#### COUNTY OF SAN LUIS OBISPO HEALTH COMMISSION

Retreat & Planning Meeting Minutes Monday, December 9, 2019 County of San Luis Obispo Public Health Department 2191 Johnson Ave, San Luis Obispo, CA

Members Present: Mary Jean Sage, Jean Raymond, Robert Campbell, Catherine Shipp, Susan Warren, Amy Kleinman, Ginger

Cochran, and Tamar Sekayan

Members Absent: Candace Winstead

Staff: Penny Borenstein, M.D. and Michael Coughlin

Agenda Item	Discussion	Action	Who/When
1. Call to Order	Mary Jean Sage (Chairperson) called the meeting to order at 6:10 p.m.  Quorum Established		Chair Sage
	The Health Commission observed a moment of silence on behalf of Kathleen Karle at the request of Chairperson Sage.		
	Chairperson Sage noted that Commissioner Jinah Byram had resigned from the Health Commission effective December 9, 2019.		
2. Public Comment:	Chairperson Sage opened the floor to public comment without response.		
3. Consent Items:	3.1 Approve the Meeting Minutes from November 18, 2019	Approved	Unanimous
	3.2 Approve Health Commission Meeting Schedule for the 2020 Calendar Year	Approved	Unanimous
	The Health Commission approves consent item 3.1 and 3.2.		
	Motion: Jean Raymond 2nd: Robert Campbell Result: Approved – Unanimous		
4. Commissioner Announcements / Updates:	position of the property of th		
	<b>Commissioner Raymond</b> – Spoke about the Age-Friendly Health Systems initiative, providing the Health Commission with a handout which is available as an addendum to the agenda.		
	<b>Commissioner Sekayan</b> – Mentioned that she is taking part in a focus group related to First 5 San Luis Obispo County.		

	Commissioner Campbell – Inquired as to the status of planned vaping related ordinances mentioned during the November meeting. Penny Borenstein, MD, Health Officer/Director for the County of San Luis Obispo Public Health Department, stated that the two ordinances will be introduced on the consent agenda at the December 10, 2019 meeting of the Board of Supervisors with a public hearing date scheduled for January 14, 2020.		
5. Adjournment for Dinner Break:			Chair Sage
6. Reconvening	Chairperson Sage reconvened the meeting at 7:00 p.m.		Chair Sage
7. Review and Appointments of Liaisons to County Advisory Committees	The Health Commission adopted revisions to Commissioner appointments as liaisons to County advisory committees/bodies as noted in attachment "A".		
8. Discuss Appointments to Health Commission Standing Committees	The Health Commission made no revisions to Commissioner appointments to its standing committees as noted in attachment "B".		
9. Discuss Recruitment for Health Commission Seat Vacancies	iscuss Recruitment Chairperson Sage stated that the Health Commission has a total of two vacancies as noted in attachment "C", requesting assistance from the		
10. Discuss and Plan Health Commission Agenda Topics for the 2020 Calendar Year	schedule for the 2020 calendar year as noted in attachment "D".		
11.Adjournment	Meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.		Chair Sage
Next Meeting	January 13, 2019, at 6:00 p.m. County Government Center, Board of Supervisors Chambers 1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA		

I, Michael J. Coughlin, Clerk of the County of San Luis Obispo Health Commission, do hereby certify that the forgoing is a fair statement of the proceedings of the meeting held on Monday, December 9, 2019 by the County of San Luis Obispo Health Commission.

Michael J. Coughlin, Administrative Services Officer Dated: December 30, 2019

# San Luis Obispo County Health Commission

## Liaisons to Advisory Bodies

(Changes Noted in Red)

Advisory Body	Meeting day/time	Meeting Location	Contact Person	Health Commission Liaison
Suicide Prevention Council	Last Wednesday of the month at 3:00	Varies	Alysia Hendry, M.S.	Catherine Shipp
Opioid Safety Coalition	Every other month	SVRMC/Auditorium	Jennifer Rhoads	Candace Winstead
SART Advisory Board	Every other month 3rd Thursday, 8:30 am	Health Campus Annex Red Room	Susan Lamont - RISE	Tamar Sekeyan Robert Campbell (alternate)
Oral Health Coalition Subgroup: Action/Prevention	Every other month: 1st Tuesday, 12:00 noon	Health Campus/Annex Red Room	Barbara Morrow	Catherine Shipp
Tobacco Control Coalition	Every other month: 3rd Tuesday, 12:15 pm	Health Campus Annex Red Room	Inger Appanaitis	Robert Campbell
Intimate Partner Violence Coalition (IPVC)	Every other month: 3rd Wednesday, 8:30 am	DA's Office	Diana McPartlan	Tamar Sekayan
Adult Services Policy Council	1 <sup>st</sup> Friday, 9-11:00 am No meeting in July	SLO Vets Hall	Emma Caballero Fred Monroe	Jean Raymond
SLO Commission on Aging	Monthly on 3 <sup>rd</sup> Friday	SLO Vets Hall	Kathleen Bellefontaine Maryanne Zarycka and Anita Hill Co-Chairs	Jean Raymond
Preventive Health Grant Advisory	Weekly meetings (Feb – Mar)	Gov't Center, 4th Floor	Nikki Schmidt	Mary Jean Sage Catherine Shipp
SLO County Disaster Healthcare Coalition (SLO-DHCC – formerly PHEPAC)	Quarterly 1st Thursday 10:30 am	CHP Coastal Division Office Headquarters on Broad Street	Elizabeth Merson-Denise Yi	Mary Jean Sage
First 5 SLO	4th Wednesday, 3:00pm	COE, Hwy 1, SLO	Wendy Wendt	Susan Warren/Ginger Cochran
HEAL SLO	Quarterly	Health Campus	Kayla Rutland	Mary Jean Sage
Healthy Communities Workshop	First Thursday of the Month	Red Room	Kayla Rutland	Amy Kleinman
Homeless Services Oversight Council	Monthly 3rd Wednesday; 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm	Vets Hall	Laura Weir	Susan Warren
Care Coordination Coalition	3 <sup>rd</sup> Friday from 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm every other month	CAPSLO 1030 Southwood Drive	Michelle Shoresman	Susan Warren

Updated December 2019 Note: Meeting times & locations may change

### San Luis Obispo County Health Commission Committee List 2019-20

Executive	Legislative	Budget	Nominating	Community Education
Mary Jean Sage	Amy Kleinman (Chair)	Susan Warren (Chair)	Jean Raymond (Chair)	Tamar Sekayan (Chair)
				Candace Winstead (Chair)
Robert Campbell	Jean Raymond	Robert Campbell	Tamar Sekayan	
Jean Raymond			Candace Winstead	
Tamar Sekayan			Catherine Shipp	
Susan Warren				
	Mary Jean Sage (ex-officio)	Mary Jean Sage (ex-officio)		Mary Jean Sage (ex-officio)

#### **HEALTH COMISSION SEATS**

Last Name	First Name	Seat Type	Term Expires	Replaces
Shipp	Catherine	Consumer	2020	Scott Smith-Cooke
Sekayan	Tamar	Consumer	2020	James Pope
Campbell	Robert	Consumer	2020	Tracy Del Rio
Winstead	Candace	Consumer	2022	Corliss Campbell
Kleinman	Amy	Consumer	2022	Kris Kington-Barker
Ginger	Cochran	Consumer	2022	David Clous
Vacant		<b>Direct Provider</b>	2020	Jinah Byram
Raymond	Jean	Direct Provider	2022	Martin Craven
Vacant		<b>Direct Provider</b>	2022	Elisa Moylan
Sage	Mary Jean	Indirect Provider	2022	Penny Chamousis
Warren	Susan	Indirect Provider	2022	

Staff will submit Ginger Cochran for reappointment to a Direct Provider seat after January 14, 2020 in accordance with the Maddy Act. Once this reappointment is complete, the Health Commission will have one vacant Consumer Seat and one vacant Direct Provider Seat.

## San Luis Obispo County Health Commission Meeting Agenda Topics Schedule - 2020 Calendar Year

Month	Topic(s)	Lead
12/09/2019	Retreat/Planning Meeting	Sage
01/13/2020	Mental Health Continuum of Care/Post-Partum Depression	Cochran/Warren
February 2020	No Meeting	
03/09/2020	Chronic Disease Care Transition	Raymond/Kleinman
04/13/2020	Blue Bag Program & Water Safety	Winstead
05/11/2020	Cancer Care (Resource Needs, Statistics, Tumor Board)	Cochran/Sekayan
06/08/2020	Foster Care / Center for Family Strengthening	Kleinman
07/13/2020	Retreat/Planning Meeting	Sage
08/10/2020	Pedestrian Safety	
09/14/2020	Food Security	
10/19/2020	Homeless/Shelter Presentation	Warren
11/09/2020	Care Coordination	
12/14/2020	Retreat/Planning Meeting	Sage