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Reminder: Report Pesticide-Related Illness to Public Health Department 
The County of San Luis Obispo Public Health Department reminds health care providers 

that California laws and regulations require physicians and other health care professionals 

to report known or suspected cases of pesticide-related illness or injury to the local County 

Health Officer within 24 hours. Several such cases of have recently been diagnosed in San 

Luis Obispo County and were not correctly reported. 

 

Please collect as much information as possible about the pesticide exposure from the 

patient during the examination and use one of the following methods for reporting:  

 

Call the San Luis Obispo County Health Officer.  

Call 805-781-5500 (M-F, 8 a.m.–5 p.m.) or 805-781-4553 (weekends and after hours). 

 

Call the California Poison Control System.  

Call the Poison Control Center to report a case and seek advice for treating and 

managing a possible pesticide illness or injury. The Poison Control contact number 

for health care providers is 1-800-411-8080. 

 

Report by submitting a Pesticide Illness Report.  

Fax the completed Pesticide Illness Report (PIR) form to the Public Health 

Department at 805-781-5543.  

 

Report via the CalREDIE Provider Portal.  

Physicians can report pesticide illness using CalREDIE. For more information, please 

visit the California Department of Public Health CalREDIE website or contact the 

CalREDIE Help Desk at CalREDIEHelp@cdph.ca.gov or 866-866-1428.  

 

California law requires the health officer to report pesticide-related illness to the County 

Agriculture Commissioner, the state Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment, 

and the state Department of Pesticide Regulation.  

 

Your prompt reporting allows the Public Health Department and state colleagues to 

conduct epidemiologic investigations of pesticide poisoning outbreaks and to develop 

recommendations to control or prevent future illness and injury.  
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Note for pesticide exposure in the workplace: For a workers' compensation case of 

pesticide illness or injury, in addition to reporting the case to the Public Health 

Department within 24 hours, the physician must also file the Doctor's First Report of 

Occupational Injury or Illness Form and send it to the patient’s employer or employer’s 

insurance carrier and to the Department of Industrial Relations within five days of the first 

visit, and to the Public Health Department within seven days of the first visit. If using 

electronic reporting, CalREDIE will automatically fill and provide the form to be 

downloaded. 

 

https://oehha.ca.gov/media/downloads/pesticides/document/dlsrform5021.pdf
https://oehha.ca.gov/media/downloads/pesticides/document/dlsrform5021.pdf

