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Green with envy: 

Financial Abuse 

 

While anyone can be a victim of financial 

abuse, dependent adults and the elderly 

are especially vulnerable. First of all, they 

often have sufficient assets to be 

attractive to thieves. Secondly, age and 

disability often require that relatives, 

friends, and strangers be solicited to help 

manage finances--- in other words are 

given easy access to assets.  Thirdly, 

perceptions of physical and mental 

limitations can make financial abuse 

seem easy and low risk.  

 

We are all victims of financial abuse. 

Because, when a senior’s or dependent 

adult’s assets are stolen, the state must 

step in with our tax dollars to help with 

food, shelter, health care and support. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

County of San Luis Obispo 

Department of Social Services 

 

During Business Hours: 

(Mon-Fri, 8 am to 5 pm) 

(805) 781-1790 

Or 

 (24-Hour Line) 

TOLL FREE 1-844-729-8011 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

County of San Luis Obispo 
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The Problem of Abuse  
When the term “abuse” comes up- as it 

does too often these days- most of us 

think physical abuse: 

• Assault or battery 

• Sexual Abuse 

• Chemical or physical restraint 

• Over/under medicating 

But there are other major types of 

abuse: 

• Neglect 

• Self-neglect 

• Abandonment 

• Isolation 

• Abduction 

• Emotional or verbal abuse/mental 

suffering  

And one of the most devastating is 

financial abuse: 

• Taking, secreting, appropriating, or 

retaining real or personal property.  

• Assisting in the above 

The scope of elder/dependent adult 

financial abuse: 

• 600,000+ incidents yearly in California 

(estimated) 

• Only 1 in 25 cases are reported to the 

authorities 

• Nationwide, $40 billion is “stolen” annually 

Reporting Financial Abuse 

When it comes to financial abuse, no one is in a 

better position to see and report suspected 

abuse than those working in the financial 

services industry. 

 

Reporting is now mandatory 

Effective January 1, 2007, financial institutions, 

and affiliated enterprises doing business in 

California, must report any suspected incidents 

of possible financial abuse. Other mandated 

reporters already include care custodians, 

clergy, health practitioners, law enforcement, 

and social services.  

Willful failure to report makes the financial 

institution subject to fines ranging $1,000-

$5,000 per incident. On the other hand, Civil 

Code and Welfare &Institutions Code protect 

institutions and their personnel from liability 

arising from reporting. 

Who must report?  

This new law applies to: 

• Depository institutions in California: banks 

and savings associations 

• Credit Unions in California 

• Parties affiliated with these institutions, 

such as consultants, joint venture partners, 

and independent contractors.  

Personnel required to initiate reporting are:  

• Directors, officers, controlling 

shareholders 

• Employees 

• Any agent of the institution  

What must be reported?  

Financial abuse of the elderly (60+) or 

dependent adults (18-59, with mental, 

physical, or developmental disability) is 

subject to mandatory reporting. Such 

incidents include: 

 

 

• Observed abuse of customers, non-

customers, applicants, and former 

customers, when on the financial 

institution’s premises or at its transaction 

sites. 

• Abuse seen, or suspected, while providing 

financial services: 

Via personal contact with victim/abuser 

By telephone or remote contact with 

victim/abuser 

During routine or requested reviews of 

financial documents, records, or 

transactions 

How are reports handled? 
Adults Protective Services (APS) is mandated by 

California to investigate allegations of 

elder/department adult abuse, financial and 

otherwise. We accept reports 24/7. 

• Confidentiality is maintained: the identity 

of the reporter will be shared with 

investigating and licensing agencies but will 

not be revealed to others unless court 

ordered.  

• If a victim is in immediate danger, 

immediate steps are taken to ensure 

safety. Otherwise, APS will make an in-

home visit and recommend services to 

reduce or eliminate the abusive situation. 

How to Report Abuse 

Reports must be phoned in immediately to APS 

when subject resides in the community; a long-

term care Ombudsman when subject resides in 

a long-term care facility; or to law enforcement,  

if dire financial loss seems imminent.  

A written “Report of Suspected Dependent 

Adult/ Elder Abuse” (Form SOC342) must follow 

within two working days.  


