
Fact Sheet 

License & Certificate of Marriage 

• Applicants must review the License & Certificate of Marriage for errors.  

• Applicants must apply for the License & Certificate of Marriage in their full legal name 

(ie, name listed on your birth certificate, court ordered name change, naturalization or 

adoption if applicable). 

• Any error reported in the name, number of times married or terminated State 

registered domestic partnership, and other items may result in citizenship issues with 

immigration & Naturalization Service and could require a court order to correct.  

• Any errors on the license may result in delays with other agencies.  

• Applicants must be getting married in California within 90 days from the date the 

License & Certificate of Marriage is issued.  The license is to be returned to our office 

within 10 days of the marriage ceremony.  

• There are no refunds for a License & Certificate of Marriage purchased in error. If the 

License & Certificate of Marriage is lost, stolen, or destroyed prior to the marriage 

ceremony, applicants must re-apply and pay the full fee for a new License & Certificate 

of Marriage.  

 

Applicants will be required to raise their right hand and read the following Affidavit prior to 

signing the License & Certificate of Marriage: 

We have reviewed the information on the reverse side pertaining to 

the name equality act of 2007 and understand the information in the 

new name fields 30a-31c cannot be changed or amended after the 

license is issued by this office.  

We, the undersigned, declare under penalty of perjury under the 

laws of state of California that we are unmarried and that the 

foregoing information is true and correct to the best of our 

knowledge and belief.  

We further declare that no legal objection to the marriage nor to the 

issuance of a license is known to us. We acknowledge receipt of the 

information required by family code section 358 and hereby apply for 

a license and certificate of marriage.  



 

Fact Sheet  

License & Certificate of Marriage 

The marriage certificate is used by multiple local, state, federal and private agencies, each of 

which have different rules and /or regulations regarding what documents are acceptable to 

change your name on their records following marriage. It is recommended that you contact 

these agencies to verify their requirements prior to applying for your marriage license. 

It is unlawful for our employees to answer questions of a legal nature. County Clerk staff 

cannot advise you how to complete the marriage license application as it relates to your 

entry of a new name or retention of your former name on the marriage license application. 

For your protection, if you have any questions regarding whether you should or should not 

list your new name on the marriage license application, and/or how the Name Equality Act 

of 2007 may affect you, please consult an attorney prior to applying for your marriage 

license.  

Information Regarding the Name Equality Act of 2007 

One or both parties to a marriage may elect to change the middle or last names by which 

that party wishes to be known after they are married by entering the new name fields 30a 

through 31c, as applicable, on the marriage license application at the time they are 

applying for the marriage license. The parties may choose any of the following middle or 

last names as the name they wish to be known as after marriage [FC 306.5(b)(2)]: 

• Current last name of the other spouse 

• Last name of either spouse given at birth 

• A name combining into a single last name all or a segment of the current last name 

or last name of either spouse given at birth 

• A hyphenated combination of last names 

NOTE: You may not change your first name using this process. IMPORTANT: You may not 

amend the marriage license, after it has been issued, to add or change the name you wish to 

be known as after you are married. The name you indicate on the marriage license application 

will be your name on the marriage license/certificate and cannot be changed by the County 

Clerk.  

You are not required to change your name, nor are parties required to have the same name.  

If one or both parties do not wish to identify a new name on the marriage license, fields 30a-

31c, as applicable, the marriage license will be completed with two single dashes. You may 

not change the information on the marriage license after it has been issued by the County 

Clerk.  


