
Certainly we would prefer that women seek help while
they are pregnant, not after giving birth, to receive

proper medical care and counseling.  But at the same
time, we want to assure parents who choose not to

keep their baby that they will not go to jail for 
abandoning their baby if they deliver their babies 

to safe hands in a hospital emergency room.

The California Safely 
Surrendered Baby Law:

Allows a distressed birth parent(s) to legally, 
confidentially, and safely surrender their baby 

Provides a safe place for babies

Protects the parent(s) from arrest or prosecution for
abandonment

Does not require that names be given when the baby
is surrendered

Permits parents to bring a baby within 3 days of birth
to any hospital emergency room in California

In California, no one ever
has to abandon a child again.

no shame.

no blame.

no names.

now there’s a way 
to safely surrender 

your baby

http://www.babysafe.ca.gov/res/pdf/SSBCampaign.pdf
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What if a parent wants the baby back?

The parent(s) may take the bracelet back to the hospital.

Under the SSB Law, a parent has at least 14 days to

claim his or her infant.  Hospital personnel will provide

information about the baby.

Why is California doing this?

The purpose of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law is to

protect babies from being hurt or killed because they

were abandoned.

You may have heard tragic stories of babies left in dump-

sters or public toilets.  The persons who committed these

acts may have been under severe emotional distress.  The

mothers may have hidden their pregnancies, fearful of

what would happen if their families found out.  Because

they were afraid and had nowhere to turn for help, they

abandoned their infants.

Abandoning a baby puts the child in extreme danger.  It

is also illegal.  Too often, it results in the baby’s death.

Because of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law, this tragedy

doesn’t ever have to happen in California again.

A Safely Surrendered Baby in California

At 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, July 25, 2002, a healthy new-

born baby was brought to St. Bernardine Medical

Center in San Bernardino under the provisions of the

California Safely Surrendered Baby Law.

This baby was another child protected under California’s

Safely Surrendered Baby Law.  As the law states, the

baby’s mother did not have to identify herself.  When

the baby was brought to the emergency room, he was

examined by a pediatrician and was healthy and doing

fine.  He was placed in a foster home for short-term

care while the adoption process was started.

Every baby deserves a chance for a healthy life.  If

you or someone you know is considering giving

up a child, learn about your options.

What is the Safely Surrendered Baby Law?

It’s a new law.  Under this law, a person may surrender

their baby confidentially without fear of arrest or prosecu-

tion for abandonment.

How does it work? 

A distressed parent who is unable or unwilling to care for

an infant can legally, confidentially and safely surrender

their baby within 3 days of birth.  All that is required is

that the baby be brought to a hospital emergency room

in California.  If there are additional places, they will be

listed on this brochure.  A bracelet will be placed on the

baby for identification.   A matching bracelet will be

given to the parent.  The bracelet will help connect the

parent to the baby if the parent wants the baby back.

Can only a parent bring in the baby?

In most cases, a parent will bring in the baby.  The law

allows another person to bring in the baby if they have

lawful custody.

Does the parent have to call before bringing 

in the baby?

No. A parent can bring in a baby anytime, 24 hours a

day, 7 days a week.

Does a parent have to tell anything to the people

taking the baby?

No. Nothing is required.  However, hospital personnel

will give the parent a medical information questionnaire

that is designed to gather family medical history.  This

could be very useful in caring for the child but it is up to

the parent to complete it.

What happens to the baby?

The baby will be examined and given medical treatment,

if needed.  Then the baby will be placed in a foster or

pre-adoptive home. 

What happens to the parent?

Once the parent(s) has safely turned over the baby, they

are free to go.


