Newborns can be safely given

up at any hospital emergency

room in Santa Clara County.

What is the Safely Surrendered Baby Law?
California’s Safely Surrendered Baby Law allows parents
to give up their baby confidentially. As long as the baby
has not been abused or neglected, parents may give up
their newborn without fear of arrest or prosecution.

How does it work?

A distressed parent who is unable or unwilling to care
for a baby can legally, confidentially and safely give up a
baby within 72 hours of birth. The baby must be handed
to an employee at a hospital emergency room. As long
as the child shows no signs of abuse or neglect, no
name or other information is required. In case the parent
changes his or her mind at a later date and wants the
baby back, workers will use bracelets to help connect
them to each other. One bracelet will be placed on the
baby, and a matching bracelet will be given to the
parent.

What if a parent wants the baby back?
Parents who change their minds can begin the process
of reclaiming their newborns within 14 days. These
parents should contact the hospital they surrendered
the baby to.

Can only a parent bring in the baby?

In most cases, a parent will bring in the baby. The
law allows other people to bring in the baby if they
have legal custody.

Does the parent have to call before
bringing in the baby?

No. A parent can bring in a baby anytime, 24 hours a
day, 7 days a week so long as the parent gives the baby
to someone who works at the hospital.

Does a parent have to tell anything to the

people taking the baby?

No. However, hospital personnel will ask the parent to
fill out a questionnaire designed to gather important
medical history information, which is very useful in
caring for the child. Although encouraged, filling out
the questionnaire is not required.

What happens to the baby?

The baby will be examined and given medical treatment,
if needed. Then the baby will be placed in a pre-adoptive
home.

no shame.
no blame.
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What happens to the parent?
Once the parent(s) has safely turned over the baby,
they are free to go.

Why is California doing this?

The purpose of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law is

to protect babies from being abandoned by their parents
and potentially being hurt or killed. You may have heard
tragic stories of babies left in dumpsters or public
bathrooms. The parents who committed these acts may
have been under severe emotional distress. The moth-
ers may have hidden their pregnancies, fearful of what
would happen if their families found out. Because they
were afraid and had nowhere to turn for help, they
abandoned their infants. Abandoning a baby puts the
child in extreme danger. It is also illegal. Too often, it
results in the baby’s death. Because of the Safely
Surrendered Baby Law, this tragedy doesn’t ever have
to happen in California again.

Every baby deserves a chance for a healthy life. If
someone you know is considering abandoning a

newborn, let her know there are other options.

For more information call the
Safely Surrendered Baby Law Hotline at (877) 272-3327.



