
NOTICE 

Child Abuse Mandated Reporter 

Section 11166 of the Penal Code requires any child care custodian, medical practitioner, non-medical 
practitioner, or employee of a child protective agency who has knowledge of or observes a child in his or 
her professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment whom he or she knows or 
reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse to report the known or suspected instance of 
child abuse to a child protective agency immediately or as soon as practically possible by telephone and 
to prepare and send a written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning 
the incident.  Please contact the Health Agency Compliance Officer if you believe you are exempt from 
mandated reporting. 

Mandated child abuse reporters are exempt from civil or criminal liability for reporting known or 
suspected child abuse as required or authorized by the child abuse reporting law.  Unless there is an 
emergency, you should notify your supervisor prior to reporting an incident of child abuse. 

Mandated reporters are allowed to file a claim for reimbursement with the State Board of Control for 
reasonable attorney’s fees incurred in any action brought against him or her on the basis of making a 
report required or authorized by the child abuse reporting law.  

Any person failing to report an instance of child abuse which he/she knows or exist or reasonably should 
know to exist, is guilty of a misdemeanor which is punishable by jail confinement not to exceed one 
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), or by both. 

Note:  The appropriate “child protective agency” to report to in San Luis Obispo County is the 
Department of Social Services, Child Protective Service Division at (805) 784-KIDS or any law 
enforcement agency.  The appropriate written report to be completed is the “Suspected Child Abuse 
Report,” or scar.   

The County is required to provide you sections of the California Penal Code relating to your obligation to 
report child abuse.  Please click on the provided link for a copy of this information.  The information is 
also located on the County Health Agency internet and intranet page.   

By checking this box, I understand that California state law specifies that in general, employees of the 
Health Agency are “Mandated Child Abuse Reporters” under 11165.5 of the Penal Code.  I further certify 
that as a mandated child abuse reporter, I understand my reporting responsibilities as outlined in this 
document and will comply with my obligations under California state law.  Lastly, I understand that I 
have been provided relevant sections of the Penal Code related to my obligations under the law. (Via 
link to the Health Agencies web site.) 

Adult/Elder Abuse Mandated Reporter 

California state law requires care custodians, health practitioners, employees of adult protective 
services agencies, and employees of local law enforcement agencies to report physical abuse of elders 
and dependent adults.  NOTE: EMPLOYEES WORKING IN THE DRUG AND ALCOHOL PROGRAM MAY NOT 
REPORT ELDER ABUSE OUTSIDE OF THE PROGRAM WITHOUT CLIENT AUTHORIZATION.  PLEASE REPORT 
TO YOUR SUPERVISOR IF YOU ARE IN THE D&A DIVISION.  Other than Drug and Alcohol employees, 
please contact the Health Agency Compliance Officer if you believe you are exempt from mandated 
reporting. 

http://www.slocounty.ca.gov/Assets/MHS/Contractor+Support+Documents/Child+Abuse-Elder+Abuse+Mandated+Reporter+-+Handout.pdf
http://www.slocounty.ca.gov/Assets/MHS/Contractor+Support+Documents/Child+Abuse-Elder+Abuse+Mandated+Reporter+-+Handout.pdf


An “elder” is any person 65 years of age or older.  “Dependent adult” means any person who is between 
the ages of 18 and 64, who has physical or mental limitations which restrict his or her ability to carry out 
normal activities or to protect his or her rights, including but not limited to, persons who have physical 
or developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of age.  
“Dependent adult” also includes any person between the ages of 18 and 64 who is an inpatient of a 24 
hour health facility. 

The law specifies that employees mentioned above must report physical abuse under the following 
circumstances: 

1. When the reporter has observed an incident that reasonably appears to be physical abuse; 
2. When the reporter has observed a physical injury where the nature of the injury, its location on 

the body, or the repetition of the injury, clearly indicates that physical abuse has occurred; 
3. When the reporter is told by an elder or a dependent adult that he or she has experienced 

behavior constituting physical abuse: 
4. Other types of abuse, such as neglect, intimidation, fiduciary abuse, abandonment, etc. may also 

be reported. 

The report must be made immediately, or as soon as possible by telephone to either the Department of 
Social Services Adult Protective Services Division, Local Law Enforcement, and/or the state Long-Term 
Care Ombudsman Program (if the person in in a long-term care facility.  Unless there is an emergency, 
you should notify your supervisor prior to reporting elder abuse or dependent adult abuse.   

Additional Information:  
1. Nothing in California law requires or implies that mandated reporters have a duty to investigate 

any known or suspected case of abuse.  
2. Mandated reporters are only legally responsible for one thing: the reporting of suspected or 

known abuse.  
3. Reporting is an INDIVIDUAL DUTY. By law, a supervisor or administrator CANNOT prevent a staff 

member from reporting elder or dependent adult abuse. Neither can mandated reporters hand 
this responsibility over to another staff member.  

4. Mandated reporters must report the incident themselves, they must follow through and no one 
can alter this legal responsibility. (Note special procedures for Drug and Alcohol Program 
employees) 

5. When you report an instance of suspected abuse, you are acting according to the law and 
behaving in an ethical manner.  
 

The County is required to provide you sections of the California Welfare & Institutions Code relating 
to your obligation to report elder abuse.  Please click on the provided link for a copy of this 
information.  The information is also located on the County Health Agency internet and intranet 
page.   

 
By checking this box, I understand that California state law specifies that in general, employees of 
the Health Agency are “Elder Abuse Mandated Reporters” under Welfare and Institutions Codes 
15600-15601, 15610, 15630-15637, and 15659.  I further certify that as a mandated 
elder/dependent adult abuse reporter, I understand my reporting responsibilities as outlined in this 
document and will comply with my obligations under California state law.  Lastly, I understand that I 
have been provided relevant sections of the Welfare and Institutions Penal Code related to my 
obligations under the law. (Via link to the Health Agencies web site.) 

http://www.slocounty.ca.gov/Assets/MHS/Contractor+Support+Documents/Child+Abuse-Elder+Abuse+Mandated+Reporter+-+Handout.pdf
http://www.slocounty.ca.gov/Assets/MHS/Contractor+Support+Documents/Child+Abuse-Elder+Abuse+Mandated+Reporter+-+Handout.pdf

