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A fi nancial safety net 
for California workers 
when the need is there.
Paid Family Leave insurance program.

In California, it’s the law. 

Paid Family Leave
Insurance Program

The time to care. 1-877-238-4373

For more information, visit:
www.edd.ca.gov

1-877-238-4373  (English)
1-877-379-3819  (Español)

  1-866-692-5595  (Cantonese)
1-866-692-5596  (Vietnamese)
1-866-627-1567  (Armenian)
1-866-627-1568  (Punjabi)
1-866-627-1569  (Tagalog)

1-800-445-1312  (TTY)

EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, 
and/or alternate formats need to be made  by calling 
1-877-238-4373 (voice), or TTY 1-800-445-1312.

This pamphlet is for general information only and does 
not have the force and effect of law, rule or regulation.

State of California

Fast facts about 
Paid Family Leave 
• Provides benefi ts but does not provide job   
 protection or return rights.

• Provides eligible workers partial wage   
 replacement when taking time off work to   
 care for a parent, child, spouse, and   
 registered domestic partner or to bond   
 with  a new child.

•  Covers all employees who are covered   
 by SDI (or a voluntary plan in lieu of SDI).

•  Offers up to 6 weeks of benefi ts in a   
 12-month period.

•  Provides benefi ts of approximately    
 55 percent of lost wages. 
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Paid Family Leave 
insurance benefi ts 
for California workers
There are times in the life of every working person when 
they need to care for a loved one. Maybe it’s a working 
parent who needs more time to bond with a newborn. 
Maybe it’s an employee who needs to care for a seriously 
ill parent, child, spouse, or registered domestic partner. 
California’s Paid Family Leave insurance benefi t was 
created for times like these. (Note: Registered domestic 
partners must meet requirements and register with the 
California Secretary of State to be eligible for benefi ts.) 

A program that benefi ts 
you and your family
California is leading the nation as the fi rst state to make 
it easier for employees to balance the demands of the 
workplace and family care needs at home. Paid Family 
Leave insurance benefi ts are based on the claimant’s 
(care provider’s) past quarterly earnings. For more 
information regarding maximum benefi t amounts paid, 
view the link to the Disability Insurance (DI) & Paid 
Family Leave (PFL) Weekly Benefi t Amounts in Dollar 
Increments form, DE 2589 at www.edd.ca.gov.

Paid Family Leave for 
California employees
Paid Family Leave insurance does not provide job 
protection or return rights. Your job may be protected if 
your employer is subject to the federal Family Medical 
Leave Act and the California Family Rights Act. You must 
notify your employer of your reason for taking leave in a 
manner consistent with your company’s leave policy.

To qualify for Paid Family Leave insurance benefi ts, you 
must meet the following requirements:

• Be covered by State Disability Insurance (SDI)                  
 (or a voluntary plan in lieu of SDI) and have earned at  
 least $300 in your base period from which deductions  
 were withheld.
• Complete your claim forms accurately, completely,   
 truthfully, and timely.
• Submit your claim no earlier than 9 days, but no later than
 49 days after the fi rst day your family care leave began.
• Supply medical information that supports your   
 claim that the care recipient has a serious health         
 condition and requires your care.
• Provide documentation to support a claim for   
 bonding with a new biological, adopted, or foster child. 
• Use up to two weeks of any earned but unused 
 vacation leave or paid time off (PTO) if required by   
 your employer prior to the initial receipt of benefi ts.
• Serve a 7-day unpaid waiting period before benefi ts 
 begin for each different care recipient within the 
 12-month period.

You may not be eligible for benefi ts if:

• You are receiving State Disability Insurance,        
  Unemployment Insurance, or Workers’ 
 Compensation benefi ts.
• You are not working or looking for work at the   
 time you begin your family care leave.
• You are not suffering a loss of wages.
• The need for care is not supported by the certifi cate  
 of a treating physician or practitioner.
• You are in custody due to conviction of a crime.

You are entitled to:

• Know the reason and basis for any decision that  
 affects your benefi ts.
• Appeal any decision about your eligibility for benefi ts.  
 (Appeals must be sent to Paid Family Leave in writing.) 
• A hearing of your appeal before an Administrative  
 Law Judge (ALJ). You may further appeal the ALJ’s  
 decision to the California Unemployment Insurance  
 Appeals Board and the courts. 
• Privacy — Information about your claim will be kept  
 confi dential except for the purposes allowed by law. 

Contact Paid Family Leave 
If you have any questions about these benefi ts or would 
like to request a claim form, contact us today. If you are a 
woman currently receiving SDI pregnancy-related benefi ts, 
it is not necessary to request a Claim for Paid Family Leave 
Benefi ts. You will automatically be sent a Claim for Paid 
Family Leave (PFL) Benefi ts – New Mother, DE 2501FP, 
when your pregnancy-related disability claim ends.

1-877-238-4373 (English) 1-877-379-3819 (Español)
1-866-692-5595 (Cantonese) 1-866-692-5596 (Vietnamese)
1-866-627-1567 (Armenian) 1-866-627-1568 (Punjabi)
1-866-627-1569 (Tagalog) 1-800-445-1312 (TTY)

For more information, visit: www.edd.ca.gov
Claim forms should be mailed to Paid Family Leave at:
P.O. Box 997017, Sacramento, CA 95799-7017
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