Uninsured?

m ! . GET FULL HEALTH COVERAGE Need Help Paying
] & P > )a @ nealh neurance an afordatie reaty. - for Medical Care?

, Covered California is our state’s online
\ / ‘ [ ) health insurance marketplace where you can MISP i c ¢ to hel
i i : find out if you are eligible for free coverage - IS a .oun y prog.ram 0 help
S through Medi-Cal, or for financial assistance qualified low-income residents pay for
» Is your income just over the maximum to purchase health insurance. necessary medical care.
allowed to qualify for Medi-Cal? Enroll or just get answers online at
» Did special circumstances prevent you www.CoveredCA.com or call1-800-300-
from purchasing subsidized insurance 1506.

during the annual enrollment period?
GET FREE AND UNBIASED HELP

Covered California can also find you nearby
certified enrollment counselors or insurance
agents who will provide in-person

Call 805-781-4838 to find out if MISP assistance.
can help you get the care you need.

MISP IS NOT FULL HEALTH
COVERAGE

MISP provides limited short-term coverage
for some medical needs.

» Do you have a current iliness or injury
and no other way to pay for necessary
medical care?

The length of time you will be eligible to
receive MISP coverage is limited to three
months, or to six months for a qualifying
chronic illness. You may reapply for MISP if

You can also get enroliment assistance by

Ve BELILE e ave & niedice] izat, calling CHC at 805-929-3211 (press #2)to | _
Unlike Medi-Cal and private health schedule an appointment with a certified >
N
insurance, MISP does not meet the legal enrollment counselor. E
requirement for minimal essential coverage, i 3 . . .
Q_ : g Or call the local office of the Department of % Medically Indigent Services Program
which means you could be subject to a tax Social Services at 805-781-1600. o
penalty for not having health coverage. . , . , &Q COUNTY OF SAN LUIS OBISPO
Free & Friendly Help! No strings attached! ‘é’ sloPublicHealth.org/MISP 805-781-4838



WHO QUALIFIES FOR MISP HOW TO APPLY FOR MISP HOW MISP WORKS

» You currently have a covered medical CALL: 805-781-4838
need. Call to apply or just to find out more
MISP does not cover preventative care, information about MISP. We're available
health screenings, contraception or Monday through Friday, 8:00AM to 5:00PM
pregnancy. (closed from 12:00PM to 1:00PM).

» You have low income. Information is also available online at
www.SLOpublichealth.org/MISP.

See income table below:

MISP Monthly | R F
SP Monthly Income Range The MISP office is located at the County
Household | Minimum Maximum Health Agency: 2180 Johnson Ave., San
Size Income Income . .
Luis Obispo, 93401 (corner of Johnson and
$1,344 $2,432 .
Bishop).
$1 ,81 0 $3,278 Marsh Street
$2.744 $4.123 N V4 AFTER A MEDICAL EVENT
N ) . A
For each additional household member: & p SLO County Health If you've experlenc.ed a recent medical .
+1 $470 $846 z Agency event, such as a trip to the ER or a stay in
\ “MISP Office- the hospital, MISP might be able to help you
*Based on tax returns and current earnings. £ / pay for some of those costs.
X
» You have limited assets (money & YOUR SHARE OF cosT
personal property). Bishop Street Share of cost is the monthly amount you
have to pay towards your health care costs
» You have no other source of before MISP will pgy th.e reme.llnder. Share of
coverage available. WHAT WE’LL NEED FROM YOU cost works somethlnglllke an insurance
For example, you're not eligible for » Tell us if your medical need is urgent plan's monthly deductible.
Medi-Cal or for coverage from an _ Share of cost is based on your income—the
employer-based health plan. > Agovernment-issued photo ID higher your income, the higher your share of
) ) » Your Social Security Card cost.
» You experienced a hardship that
prevented you from getting health > Most recent pay stubs You won't have to pay a share of cost for
insurance. o primary care visits and prescriptions you
> Lastyear's signed federal tax return receive at the Community Health Centers of
» You’re a resident of SLO County and » Bank statements for the past month the Central Coast (CHC) clinics.
are a legal U.S. resident. » More information may be required You will have a share of cost for services

you receive outside of CHC.

after your application is reviewed




