Tax Collector Services

Services

County Business Licenses

The Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector (ACTTC) issues Business Licenses for businesses operating in the unincorporated areas of the County. Typically, these licenses must be renewed annually.

 

Renew an existing Business License (or a Transient Occupancy Tax Certificate)

Licensing Vacation Rentals

In the unincorporated areas of San Luis Obispo (SLO) County (outside of any of the seven incorporated cities), all lodging businesses (including private home vacation rentals) must register for a County Business License and must collect a Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT, also called "bed tax" or "hotel tax") and other required assessments from their guests. These requirements apply whether vacation rental properties are rented directly by owners, through a local property manager, or through an internet listing site such as airbnb.com, vrbo.com. homeway.com, craigslist.org, etc.

Mobilehome Tax Clearance Certificate

In order to sell a mobilehome and transfer title, a seller will need a Mobilehome Tax Clearance Certificate (MHTCC). This document, provided by the Tax Collector, certifies that there are no taxes currently owed on a mobilehome assessment.

Mobilehome Taxes

Mobilehomes in California are taxed through the property tax system. Older mobilehomes (generally prior to 1980) may be taxed and licensed through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Pay Property Tax Bills

Taxpayers can make payments on their Secured (“real estate”) or Unsecured Property Tax Bills online, over the phone, at the Public Service Counter in the Tax Collector's Office, or through the mail.

Payment of Delinquent Property Taxes

Unpaid property taxes may incur additional fees, penalties, and interest, as required by California law. If you owe delinquent property taxes, please contact the Tax Collector. Our staff will be happy to assist you in understanding your options and assisting you in paying your delinquent taxes.

The Tax Collector Division is available to give you the most recent information on delinquent or past due taxes. Please email the Tax Collector at ttc@co.slo.ca.us or call us at (805) 781-5831 for assistance.

Property Tax Information Request

With this service, taxpayers can request copies of tax bills, payment history, and other tax-related information.

Property Tax Penalty Cancellation Requests

The California Revenue and Taxation (R&T) Code requires that the Tax Collector impose penalties when payments are not received prior to the delinquency date. In certain very limited situations, the R&T Code allows the Tax Collector to cancel these penalties.

If, after reading the Frequently Asked Questions, below, you believe that you are eligible for a property tax penalty cancellation, please contact the Tax Collector at ttc@co.slo.ca.us or at (805) 781-5831 in order begin the penalty cancellation request process.

Property Tax Postponement

This State program allows homeowners who are seniors, are blind, or have a disability to defer current-year property taxes on their principal residence if they meet certain criteria, including 40 percent equity in the home and an annual household income of $35,500 or less.

Property Taxes- Secured

Secured Property Taxes are assessed on real estate property within the County of San Luis Obispo. The Tax Collector Division of the Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector (ACTTC) is responsible for billing and collecting Secured Property Taxes.

Property Taxes- Supplemental

While property is typically assessed for taxation on an annual basis, events such as a transfer or sale or new improvements or construction may lead to a reassessment. This reassessment may result in one or more Supplemental Tax Bills being mailed to the assessed owner. These Supplemental Tax Bills are in addition to the annual property tax bill. For more information on Supplemental Property Taxes, please consult the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) below.

Property Taxes- Unsecured

The Tax Collector Division of the Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector (ACTTC) is responsible for billing and collecting unsecured property taxes. Unsecured property taxes are assessed against property not secured by real estate. Common examples of unsecured taxes may include: business equipment, boats, and aircraft.

Public Auction of Tax-Defaulted Property

Property that has unpaid taxes for five (5) years, and for which the County has recorded a Power of Sale, may be sold at a public auction.

 

CAUTION TO BIDDERS:
 
As a bidder, you agree to the instructions, terms and conditions of this auction as stated herein. The highest bidder is legally obligated to complete the purchase. Failure to complete a purchase constitutes a breach of contract and may result in a bar from future sales.

Tourism Marketing District

The Tax Collector Division of the ACTTC is responsible for collecting the Tourism Marketing District (TMD) Assessment in the same manner and at the same time as Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) is collected. The TMD assessment is 1% of taxable rents collected by lodging operators in the unincorporated areas of the County. Lodging operators include hotels, motels, vacation rental properties, private home vacation rentals, inns, bed & breakfasts, etc.

Tract or Parcel Map Service

A Tract or a Parcel Map is a process used to subdivide real property into smaller lots. As an example, a property developer my file a tract or parcel map in order to divide a large parcel into smaller parcels for individual sale.

Transient Occupancy Tax (Hotel Tax)

The Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector (ACTTC) administers the County’s Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) program, which receives money collected by lodging businesses from guests. Lodging businesses are required to collect 9% TOT from their guests. Additionally, Lodging operators are also required to collect 1% for the Tourism Marketing District (TMD) assessment, which goes to promote tourism in the area. Finally, in the Tourism Business Improvement District (TBID), lodging operators are required to collect an additional 2% assessment. 

Depending on the location of your lodging, there may be 10% (9% TOT + 1% TMD) or 12% (9% TOT + 1% TMD +2% TBID) added to the rent charges collected from guests.

In the unincorporated areas of San Luis Obispo County (outside of any of the seven (7) incorporated cities), all lodging businesses (including private home vacation rentals, vacation rental properties, hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts, Airbnbs, inns, etc.) must register for a County Business License and must collect Transient Occupancy Tax (also called "bed tax" or "hotel tax") and other required assessments from their guests. These requirements apply whether properties are rented directly by owners, through a local property manager, or through an internet listing such as airbnb.com, vrbo.com, homeaway.com. or craigslist.org.

TOT collected by operators from their guests helps fund important County services, such as law enforcement and road maintenance. Additionally, enforcement of County Business License and TOT requirements helps to ensure a "level playing field" for all operators.

Renew an existing Transient Occupancy Tax Certificate (or a Business License)