Current County Cannabis Regulations

The following information applies to the unincorporated areas of San Luis Obispo County. If you reside within the boundaries of a City, please contact that city for their regulations regarding cannabis.

On Sept. 20, 2016, the County of San Luis Obispo adopted an ordinance to establish a moratorium on the cultivation of cannabis (marijuana) in all unincorporated areas of the county, with certain exceptions. The Ordinance, approved by a four-fifths vote, includes four primary points:

  1. No New cultivation sites can be started, with the following exception: new patient (6 plants, 100 square-foot maximum) and primary caregiver (30 plants, 500 square-foot maximum) cultivation sites can be started, as an accessory use (i.e. cannot start on vacant parcels). All new cultivation sites must register with the County.
  2. All existing cultivators (as of August 23, 2016) may continue growing for the duration of the urgency ordinance, provided that they registered with Planning and Building, by November 18, 2016.
  3. The Urgency Ordinance does not create any vested right for cultivators. All registrations will expire when the Urgency Ordinance expires, or when a permanent ordinance is adopted, whichever is sooner. All cultivators will have to apply for, and be granted, a land use permit under the permanent ordinance in order to cultivate.
  4. The Urgency Ordinance is in place until September 19, 2017, and can be extended 1 additional year (for a total of 2 years from original adoption).

Related Forms & Documents

Cannabis Registration FAQs
Survey: How Well Do You Know Cannabis Regulations in SLO County?