To make an appointment with your Probation Officer, you should give him/her a call. If you do not have your Probation Officer's number, call the Probation Department switchboard at (805) 781-5300 or come to the office at 1730 Bishop Street, San Luis Obispo
Once all probation grants are closed, the person can petition the Court directly or complete paperwork at the Probation Department to have Misdemeanor or Felony conviction dismissed except for conviction described in PC 1203.4(b).
This is confidential information that can not be shared with the public. If you think someone is on probation and they may be violating their probation, contact us at 805-781-5300 and a Probation Officer will obtain the information from you and will respond accordingly.
This program lasts 52 weeks. Signups are held at the Probation Department in San Luis Obispo every Thursday at 10:45 am. The cost is $75 for assessment, $35 per session, $50 for the exit interview. The session sites are located throughout the county; the women's group is held in San Luis Obispo.
Report in person to the Probation Dept. at 1730 Bishop Street, San Luis Obispo or telephone (805) 781-5300. The front desk clerk will schedule an appointment for you. If you are in custody, a Probation Officer will come to the jail and interview you before your sentencing hearing.
You must have complied with all terms and conditions of probation, completed at least half of your probation term, and have had no probation violations that resulted in additional jail time. Additionally, any court ordered restitution must have been paid in full. You can seek early termination via your attorney or Probation Officer who will process you through the court procedure.
To travel out of county, you must notify your Deputy Probation Officer (DPO) of the need for the travel and obtain approval from your DPO prior to leaving the county. Approval will depend on the circumstance of your case. To travel out of state, you will need to obtain approval and a Travel Permit from your DPO. To move out of state, you must obtain approval from your DPO, the state of California and the receiving state via the Interstate Compact process.
The Drug Court model utilizes the judge as the primary motivator. Drug Court participants appear before the judge on a regular basis and, therefore, have an opportunity to receive encouragement and praise for positive progress as well as timely sanctions for probation violations. Intensive treatment and close probation supervision are also important components of the Drug Court model.
Drug Court participants who have been convicted of a non-violent felony and have primary or underlying substance abuse issues. Candidates are screened for acceptance by the treatment team and probation.
In November of 2000, California passed Proposition 36, the Substance Abuse and Crime Prevention Act. The purpose is to divert non-violent probationers and parolees charged with simple drug possession or drug use offenses from jail to treatment.
Proposition 47 was a referendum passed by voters in the state of California on November 20, 2014. The measure was also referred to by its supporters as the "Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Act." It redefined some nonviolent offenses as misdemeanors, rather than felonies, as they had previously been categorized.
Formal probation means the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence and the order of conditional and revocable release in the community, under the supervision of a Probation Officer, P.C. 1203(a). Probation under the supervision of a Probation Officer is often referred to as "formal" probation.
Bench probation is also commonly referred to as "informal", "summary" or "conditional sentence" probation. A grant of summary or informal probation is a "conditional sentence". This means it is the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence and the order of revocable release in the community, subject to the conditions established by the court, withoutthe supervision of a Probation Officer. Summary probation (a conditional sentence) is not authorized in felony cases. Both formal probation and summary probation (bench probation) can be violated. [P.C. 1203.2(a)].