Skip to Content
 > County Home Page > Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors

What We Do

The Board of Supervisors serves as the Legislative body of San Luis Obispo County for the planning and provision of services related to public needs and the requirements of state and federal laws. California law provides for five Supervisors to be elected by district. Each Supervisor is elected for a four-year term. Two of the Supervisors' terms are staggered so that all Supervisors are not standing for election at the same time. As the elected representative of the people of San Luis Obispo County, the Board of Supervisors establishes overall county priorities and sets policy. 

District 1

District 2

District 3

District 4

District 5

Frank R. Mecham
Vice Chair


Bruce S. Gibson

Adam Hill

Caren Ray

Debbie Arnold

Frank Mecham Portrait Bruce Gibson Portrait Adam Hill Portrait Caren Ray  Debbie Arnold Portrait

Board of Supervisors Mission Statement

The San Luis Obispo Board of Supervisors, the legislative arm of the County government, is committed to the implementation of such policies and the provision of such services that will enhance the economic, environmental and social quality of life in San Luis Obispo County.


Board of Supervisors Photographs Needed

We are asking all County residents to help us complete our exhibit of Supervisors’ photographs, which is on display outside the Board Chambers. Below is an alphabetical list of those Supervisors for whom we have no photo. If you have a photograph of any of these Supervisors, we would very much appreciate it if you would loan it to us so that we can scan it and promptly return it to you.


Please contact the Board of Supervisors clerical staff at 781-5450 or 1-(800)-834-4636 for any questions or to make arrangements for us to borrow your photograph. Thank you in advance for your help in completing this project. 



 J. Mariano Bonilla 1854; 1862-66     J.M. Monos 1854     J. Apsey 1905  J.Aspey Photo
 J.E. Cliff 1909-17    R.H. Pond 1878      
 Don Julian Estrada 1860-63    Joseph Riley 1867      
 C.D. Fowler 1882    Ernest Romie 1854; 1861-62      
C.L. French 1878-79    William J. Sheid 1874-86      
 G.E. Long 1866    George R. Short 1878-79      
 C. Mathers 1866-67    H.Y. Stanly 1885-87      
 B.F. Mayfield 1876-79    J.D. Thompson 1864      
     R.A. Thompson 1862-63