The Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) Program facilitates the registration of qualified patients and their primary caregivers through a State-wide identification system. Participation in the program is voluntary for patients and the patients’ primary caregivers. Through their county of residence, qualified patients and their primary caregivers may apply for, and be issued, an identification card. This card may be used to verify those patients and caregivers that have State authorization to possess, grow, and/or transport medical marijuana in California.
What does it cost?
Starting November 1st, 2016, Fees for the State ID card: 1) Non Medi-Cal recipients: $65.00 and 2) Medi-Cal recipients $32.50.
How do I apply?
APPLICATIONS MAY BE DOWNLOADED ONLINE, FILLED OUT AND SUBMITTED IN PERSON TO THE COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT FROM the County of San Luis Obispo's MMIC Forms webpage or http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/mmp/. If you do not have Internet access or wish to obtain the forms other than downloading from the Internet, phone the PHD at 805-781-5500. Completed applications will be accepted by appointment only by calling 805-781-5514.
Once an appointment is made, the following items must be brought to your appointment at the Public Health Department (PHD) at 2191 Johnson Avenue in San Luis Obispo:
- A completed MMIC application;
- A government-issued photo identification (e.g. California State driver’s license, a California State ID card, a United States passport, or a Veteran’s Administration ID card);
- Proof that you live in San Luis Obispo County, e.g. the current photo IDs listed above, a recent utility bill for your residence, a recent rental or mortgage payment receipt, etc.;
- Written documentation completed by your physician that states that you have been diagnosed with a serious medical condition and that the medical use of marijuana is appropriate and recommended, this must be dated within 4 months of your current application;
- Credit cards and cash, money order, or cashiers check (payable to the San Luis Obispo County Public Health Department) are accepted. If you have proof of current Medi-Cal benefits, such as a current Medi-Cal card, the fees are reduced. All fees are non-refundable, even if you are denied a medical marijuana ID card.
- If you currently have a MediCal or CenCal card, please bring this as well.
What does the process include?
- The Public Health Department will accept and verify your application information.
- The Public Health Department will take your photograph at your appointment.
- Information will be forwarded to the State MMIC program for card issuance.
- State cards will be sent to the Public Health Department for distribution to the applicant.
- Fees: 1) Non Medi-Cal recipients: $65.00 and 2) Medi-Cal recipients $32.50. When applying for a primary caregiver card, the patient must accompany their primary caregiver.
- Each primary caregiver card represents only one patient.
- Each primary caregiver card requires a separate fee.
- This ID card will be recognized by law enforcement agencies as being issued by the State MMIC program.
- The PHD may deny an application for any of the following reasons: the applicant did not provide all the required information; the PHD determined that some of the submitted information was false; the applicant did not meet the required criteria stated in the Health and Safety Code: Section 11362.74(a); or the recommending physician is not a California-licensed physician in good standing.
- An appeals process for denied applications is available.
For further questions and information, please see the State MMIC website: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/mmp/