Process Server Registration
What is this service?
This service provides information about how to register as a Process Server. Process servers deliver legal documents to individuals involved in a court proceeding. In California, a process server is defined as any person who makes more than ten (10) services of process within this state during one (1) calendar year, for specific compensation or in expectation of specific compensation; or any corporation or partnership that derives or expects to derive compensation from service of process within this state.
Laws concerning process servers are set forth in California Business and Professions Code (BPC 22350-22360).
Who can use this service?
Anyone residing in or whose principal place of business is located in San Luis Obispo County, who has resided in the State of California for at least one year prior to applying, and who has not been convicted of a felony may register as a Process Server.
Is there a charge for this service?
Please refer to the Clerk-Recorder's Fee Schedule.
What is the process?
Step 1: Complete Application
Complete and sign the appropriate application form:
Step 2: Complete a Live Scan
At the time of filing, the registrant must submit a completed Live Scan confirming fingerprint submission to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Please refer to the California Department of Justice to find Live Scan fingerprinting service providers in the County of San Luis Obispo.
Step 3: Obtain Process Server Bond
Registrant must contact an insurance or surety company to obtain a Process Server bond in favor of County of San Luis Obispo, State of California in the amount of $2,000, covering the two-year term of registration and must be submitted at the time of filing. A $2,000 cash deposit may be submitted in lieu of the bond.
Step 4: Personally Appear
The registrant shall personally appear in the Clerk-Recorder office in San Luis Obispo or Atascadero during regular business hours except during County observed holidays with the completed and signed application form, Process Server Bond, valid photo identification, completed Live Scan form, and the appropriate registration, bond recording and identification card fees.
When and where is this service offered?
This service is available anytime throughout the year at the Clerk-Recorder office in San Luis Obispo or Atascadero during regular business hours except during County-observed holidays.
Location, directions and hours of operation
Click on location name to show hours of operation, directions and phone information
Clerk-Recorder San Luis Obispo Office
1055 Monterey Street Suite D120 San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
Tel: (805) 781-5080
Fax: (805) 781-1111
Clerk-Recorder North County Office
6565 Capistrano Avenue 2nd Floor Atascadero Library Atascadero, CA 93422
Tel: (805) 461-6041
Fax: (805) 461-6044
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I check if someone is a valid Process Server in the County of San Luis Obispo?
Contact our office by phone or in person during normal office hours and we can verify the Process Server registration.