

COUNTY OF SAN LUIS OBISPO HEALTH AGENCY PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Michael Hill Health Agency Director

Penny Borenstein, MD, MPH Health Officer/Public Health Director

PROVIDER HEALTH ADVISORY

Date: July 26, 2018

Contact: Ann McDowell, Epidemiologist, 805-788-2095, amcdowell@co.slo.ca.us

Reminder: Report Pesticide-Related Illness to Public Health Department

The County of San Luis Obispo Public Health Department reminds health care providers that California laws and regulations require physicians and other health care professionals to report known or suspected cases of pesticide-related illness or injury to the local County Health Officer within 24 hours. Several such cases of have recently been diagnosed in San Luis Obispo County and were not correctly reported.

Please collect as much information as possible about the pesticide exposure from the patient during the examination and use **one** of the following methods for reporting:

Call the San Luis Obispo County Health Officer.

Call 805-781-5500 (M-F, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.) or 805-781-4553 (weekends and after hours).

Call the California Poison Control System.

Call the Poison Control Center to report a case and seek advice for treating and managing a possible pesticide illness or injury. The Poison Control contact number for health care providers is 1-800-411-8080.

Report by submitting a Pesticide Illness Report.

Fax the completed <u>Pesticide Illness Report (PIR) form</u> to the Public Health Department at 805-781-5543.

Report via the CalREDIE Provider Portal.

Physicians can report pesticide illness using CalREDIE. For more information, please visit the California Department of Public Health <u>CalREDIE website</u> or contact the CalREDIE Help Desk at CalREDIEHelp@cdph.ca.gov or 866-866-1428.

California law requires the health officer to report pesticide-related illness to the County Agriculture Commissioner, the state Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment, and the state Department of Pesticide Regulation.

Your prompt reporting allows the Public Health Department and state colleagues to conduct epidemiologic investigations of pesticide poisoning outbreaks and to develop recommendations to control or prevent future illness and injury.

Note for pesticide exposure in the workplace: For a workers' compensation case of pesticide illness or injury, **in addition** to reporting the case to the Public Health Department within 24 hours, the physician must also file the **Doctor's First Report of Occupational Injury or Illness Form** and send it to the patient's employer or employer's insurance carrier and to the Department of Industrial Relations within five days of the first visit, and to the Public Health Department within seven days of the first visit. If using electronic reporting, CalREDIE will automatically fill and provide the form to be downloaded.