Property Tax Bill with Envelope

May 6, 2021 is the Deadline to Request a COVID-19 Penalty Waiver for Delinquent Property Taxes (Upda

Author: Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector
Date: 4/30/2021 3:19 PM

James Hamilton, County Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax Collector, reminds all County taxpayers that May 6, 2021, is the last day to submit a COVID-19 request for property tax delinquent penalty waiver.

Update: The state program which allowed additional leniency for delinquent property tax payments due to the COVID emergency ended on May 6, 2021. To see if you qualify for penalty cancellation under current state law, please see our page on penalty cancellation requests.


Original Article:

On May 6, 2020, the Governor issued an Executive Order directing County Tax Collectors to suspend property tax delinquency penalties when taxpayers submit a penalty waiver request stating, under penalty of perjury, that their late payment is due to impacts of the COVID-19 emergency and that the property for which relief is requested is either their primary residence or is associated with their small business. Per the Governor’s order, the last day to submit a request and make payment without delinquency penalties is May 6, 2021.

Please note that per the Governor’s order, only properties that became delinquent after March 4, 2020, are eligible for this delinquency penalty waiver program. A previously posted article contains more information about the COVID-19 penalty waiver program.


In order to make a request for penalty waiver, please complete a penalty waiver request form and submit with your payment. If paying by mail, all requests postmarked on or before May 6, 2021, will be considered timely.

If paying online, please email us at [email protected] or call us at (805) 781-5831 before making your payment. Please note that our online tax payment system will show your amount due with penalties if you have not contacted our office first.

If paying in person, our office is open Monday-Friday from 8 A.M. to 5 P.M. and is located on the 2nd floor of the County Government Center, 1055 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93408.