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 After your timesheet review is complete you can approve your provider’s 

 

 

 

Note: This line does not support verbal responses. You must you use your phone’s touchpad. 
You don’t need to wait for TTS to call you. You can call TTS by calling (833)-342-5388 or 

(833)-DIALEVV. 

Call County IHSS to Register: 

Atascadero:  (805) 461-6110   Arroyo Grande:  (805) 474-2103 

Provider/Case Number: _______________     Passcode: _________ 

NO COMPUTER OR E MAIL NEEDED! 































<Wait Time On Duty= is only authorized 

Generally, <Wait Time



On Duty= is unpredictable and short 
<Wait Time On Duty= is 

<Wait Time Off Duty= is 

<Wait Time Off Duty= is 

’s body he/she can’t do; and 



’s 
and provider’s

<Paramedical 
Services.=



<Paramedical Services.=

<Prepare Meals.=



doesn’t need your attention, you are 

’s preference. 

would be assessed as part of <Bowel 
and/or Bladder Care.=

That is part of <Rub Skin and 
Repositioning.=



’s doctor or a nurse 

<Paramedical Services.=





















SOCIAL SECURITY 

Social Security benefits are available to individual 
providers who are 18 years old or older and not the 

parent of the employer/recipient. The benefits are 
available if you become totally disabled or retire 
and meet certain eligibility requirements. There is a 
deduction from your paycheck for Social Security 

(FICA). The benefits include monthly retirement or 

disability payments to you or your dependents. You 

should contact your local Social Security 
Administration Office for information and/or to 
apply for Social Security. The telephone number 
and address of this office are listed in the white 
pages of your telephone book under “United States 
Government, Social Security Administration.” 

MEDICARE TAX 

Medicare is the health and medical benefits 
received as part of the total Social Security benefits 
package. In the past, the Medicare tax deduction 

was a part of the Social Security (FICA) tax 
deduction. Federal law now requires that the tax 

and the amount deducted be reported separately. 

Questions regarding the Medicare tax should be 
directed to the Social Security Administration. 

STATE DISABILITY 
INSURANCE (SDI) 

State Disability Insurance benefits are available to 
you if you become disabled and are prevented from 

doing your regular work and you meet certain 
eligibility requirements. There is a deduction from 
your paycheck for SDI. State Disability Insurance 
benefits are available for a maximum of 52 weeks. 
You should contact your local California 

Employment Development Department (EDD) 
office for information and/or to apply for State 

Disability Insurance. The telephone number and 
address of this office are listed in the white pages 
of your telephone book under “California State of, 
Employment Development Department.” 

If you are the parent, spouse or child of the person 

you are providing services to you may choose to 

participate in the SDI program by applying for Elective 

State Disability Insurance. The forms for Elective SDI 

coverage are available from the county social 
services worker. If you want this optional coverage, 
the cost will be deducted from your paycheck. All 

other Individual Providers are automatically covered 
for SDI if they have IHSS quarterly wages in excess 

of $750. 

UNEMPLOYMENT 
INSURANCE (UI) 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits may be 

available to you if you are not the parent or spouse of 
your employer/recipient and become unemployed, 

able and available to work and you meet certain 
eligibility requirements. There is no deduction from 
your paycheck for Ul. Unemployment Insurance 
benefits are available for a maximum of 26 weeks. You 
should contact your local California Employment 
Development Department office for information 
and/or to apply for Unemployment Insurance. The 

telephone number and address of this office are listed 

in the white pages of your telephone book under 
“California State of, Employment Development 
Department.” 

WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 

Workers’ Compensation benefits are available to you 
if you are injured on the job or become ill due to your 
job, and you meet certain eligibility requirements. 

There is no deduction from your paycheck for 
Workers’ Compensation. If you are injured on the job, 
you should seek medical attention immediately and 
then notify your employer/recipient’s county social 

services worker. Claim forms to apply for Workers’ 

Compensation are available from the county social 

services worker and should be returned to the County 
Welfare Department when completed. For more 
information about Workers’ Compensation, you 

may call an Information and Assistance Officer at 
1-800-736-7401. 

INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 

You may have state and federal income tax 

withheld from your paycheck if you apply and you 
meet certain eligibility requirements. Income tax 

withholding for individual providers is strictly 
voluntary. If you wish to have state and federal 
income tax withheld from your paycheck please 
complete the Income Tax Withholding Form (W-4) 
and mail it to your county welfare department. If you 
do not have state and/or federal income tax 
withheld from your paycheck, you are still required 
to file a tax return at the end of the year and 
possibly pay taxes on your earnings. You should 
contact your employer/recipient’s county social 

service worker if you require additional W-4s, need 
to change your withholding, or need to determine 

the status of your withholding. 

You should contact your local California Franchise 
Tax Board (FTB) office for information about state 

income tax withholding. The telephone number and 
address of this office are listed in the white pages 

of your telephone book under “California, State of, 

Franchise Tax Board.” You should contact your 

local Internal Revenue Service (IRS) office for 

information about federal income tax withholding. 

The telephone number and address of this office 

are listed in the white pages of your telephone book 
under “United States Government, Internal 

Revenue Service.” 

EARNED INCOME 
CREDIT (EIC) 

You may be eligible for the Earned Income Credit 
(EIC). To find out about EIC and if you are eligible, 

carefully read the instructions for completing a form 

W-5 (Earned Income Credit Advance Payment 
Certificate). If you are eligible for EIC you can 
choose to get the credit in advance with your pay 
instead of waiting until you file your tax retum. You 
should contact your local Internal Revenue Service 

office or your tax consultant for information about EIC.



WELCOME TO YOUR JOB AS 
AN IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE 
SERVICES (IHSS) 
INDIVIDUAL PROVIDER 

This notice briefly describes benefits 

that may be available to you and your 
income tax responsibilities. Please 

read this pamphlet carefully. Also, 
remember that your employer is the 

IHSS recipient that hired you, not the 
State of California nor the County 
Welfare Department (CWD). The 
State of California issues this 

pamphlet and your paychecks on 
behalf of your employer and the CWD 

handles all the paper work. 

Please contact the CVD whenever 
you have any questions about your 

paycheck or timesheet. Always sign 
and date your timesheet after the pay 

period ends (not before), also have 
your employer sign and date it, then 

mail your timesheet to the CWD 
address that appears in the lower 
right-hand corner of the timesheet to 

avoid any delay in receiving your 
paycheck. Remember: always keep 

the CWD notified of any change to 
your address and/or telephone 

number. 

My County Service Worker is: 

Name 

Address 

Phone: 

County of: 

For information about IHSS 

call the local 

county welfare department 
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not to exceed each IHSS recipient’s monthly 

detrimental effects to the recipient’s





County Approval Criteria 

for Adjusting Weekly 

Authorized Hours: 

To Avoid Violations.... 

els this an 

unexpected need? 

e Is the need 

immediate? 

e Can the need wait 

for a backup 

provider? 

e Is the recipient’s 

health or safety in 
danger? 

Department of \ 

SOCIAL SERVICES Sisse 

e Work more than a total of 
66 hours per workweek if 
you work for more than one 
recipient. 

e Travel more than 7 hours 
per workweek when 
traveling directly from one 
recipient to another on the 
same workday.



orking more hours for your recipient than the recipient’s maximum weekly 



don’t receive another violation, the number of violations you have 
received will be reduced by one. As long as you don’t receive any additional violations, 

•
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the county doesn’t 
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Want to get better 
at having difficult 
conversations? 

Communication & Conflict Clinics 
for IHSS and Registry Care Providers 

Are you a care provider through IHSS or the Public Authority? 

Wh at is it? Join us for refreshments and an opportunity to: 

* Receive coaching on how to work through conflict with clients 

+ Learn simple, practical communication tips and tools that you can apply in your work today. 

+ Connect with other care providers 

* Share experiences and insights 

+ Brief one-on-one conflict coaching sessions with experienced mediators, available when time permits. 

* Ask an IHSS social worker your questions 

Dates & Times Clinics are offered monthly in locations throughout the county. 

Please call to reserve your spot and learn more about dates and times that are available. 

Call to reserve your spot at 805.549.0442 

© 
WILSHIRE 

805.549.0442 - www.creativemediation.org - infoecreativemediation.net 



 








