County of San Luis Obispo Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board

2156 Sierra Way, Suite A San Luis Obispo, CA 93401



Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB)

MEETING AGENDA

Monday, June 3, 2013 6:00pm LOCATION: Farm Bureau Office 651 Tank Farm Road San Luis Obispo

- 1. 6:00pm Call to order, introductions, quorum determination Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Steinbeck
- 2. 6:10pm Open comment: (for items not on the agenda) Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Steinbeck

3. 6:20pm Announcements from ALAB members & County Ag Department staff: "Reports from the Trenches".

4. 6:30pm Review/approval of previous meeting minutes Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Steinbeck

 5. 6:35 pm Review/possible action: Presentation - "Local Food Movement & Food Safety Issues" Laurie Salo – San Luis Obispo County Public Health

6. 7:00pm Review/possible action: Review of the DRAFT "Economic Contributions of San Luis Obispo County Agriculture" report – a study of the local agriculture industry's impact on our local economy.
Marc Lea – San Luis Obispo County Department of Agriculture

7. 7:30pm Future agenda items/meeting dates, adjournment: Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Steinbeck

ALL TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

MEMBERS: Please contact Lynda Auchinachie in the County Department of Agriculture at 805-781-5914 if you can NOT attend.

Scope of the Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB):

The ALAB is advisory in nature and is recognized as a forum for discussion of matters that relate to local agriculture and land use or as directed by the County Board of Supervisors. ALAB members serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. Meetings are open to the public. **Meeting agendas, minutes and supplemental handouts for agenda items can be accessed at** <u>www.slocounty.ca.gov/agcomm</u> or at the County Department of Agriculture – 2156 Sierra Way, Suite A, San Luis Obispo during County business hours.

Positions/Members/Terms CHAIR: Jean-Pierre Wolff VICE CHAIR: Cindy Steinbeck

District One: Mecham Appt. Cindy Steinbeck (1/17)

District Two: Gibson Appt. Lisen Bonnier (1/15)

District Three: Hill Appt. Tom Ikeda (1/17)

District Four: Teixeira Appt. Bill Struble (1/15)

District Five: Arnold Appt. Jerry Diefenderfer (1/17)

Ag. Finance Rep. Mark Pearce (8/14)

Cattlemen Rep. Dick Nock

Coastal San Luis RCD Rep. Jean-Pierre Wolff (8/14)

Direct Marketing/Organic Rep. Eric Michielssen (4/16)

Environmental Rep. Richard Hawley (1/15)

Farm Bureau Rep. R. Don Warden

Nursery Rep. David Pruitt (4/16)

Upper Salinas-Las Tablas RCD Rep. Charles Pritchard (1/14)

Vegetable Rep. Claire Wineman (4/16)

Wine Grape Rep. Neil Roberts (4/16)

County Agricultural Commissioner Marty Settevendemie *Ex-Officio* U.C. Coop. Extension Farm Advisor Mary Bianchi *Ex-Officio*