

Michael Winn Chairperson	Sue Luft Vice Chairperson	Courtney Howard Secretary
Room 207, County Government Center		PH (805) 781-1016
San Luis Obispo CA 93401		FAX (805) 788-2182

Members

Steve Sinton District 1

Bill Garfinkel District 2

Marilee Hyman District 3

Michael Winn District 4

Dan O'Grady District 5

Chuck Fellows Arroyo Grande

Russ Thompson Atascadero

Robert Mires Grover Beach

Betty Winholtz Morro Bay

Christopher Alakel Paso Robles

Ted Ehring Pismo Beach

Allen Settle San Luis Obispo

Jim Adams *Cambria CSD* 

John D'Ornellas *Heritage Ranch CSD* 

Maria Kelly Los Osos CSD

Bruce Buel Nipomo CSD

Barbara Manr Oceano CSD

John Russell San Simeon CSD

Mike Ellison San Miguel CSD

Jeff Hodge Templeton CSD

Linda Chipping Coastal San Luis RCD

Tom Mora Upper Salinas RCD

Ray Allen Agriculture At-Large

Joy Fitzhugh County Farm Bureau

Sue Luft Environmental At-Large

Eric Greening Environmental At-Large

John Neil Atascadero MWC

John Kellerman California Men's Colony

John Reid *Camp SLO* 

Edralin Maduli *Cuesta College* 

Mark Zimmer Golden State Water July 28, 2009

Honorable Bruce Gibson Chairperson, Board of Supervisors County of San Luis Obispo 976 Osos Street San Luis Obispo, CA 93408-2040

Subject: Agricultural Clusters

Dear Chairperson Gibson:

Beginning with the first agricultural cluster in 1984, the purpose of such clusters was to provide the agricultural landowner with needed financial support while retaining ninety-five (95%) of the land in agricultural production, thus avoiding what is often called "cookie cutter development".

Normally water allocation for agricultural use is not government's business, but with agricultural clusters the number of residences is supposed to be proportional to the sustainable ability to irrigate crops.

Members of the WRAC considered the formation of a subcommittee to review the water and wastewater impacts of agricultural clusters at their regularly scheduled meeting on April 1, 2009. A subcommittee to review the water and wastewater impacts of agricultural clusters was formed. Subcommittee members included Michael Winn (District 4), Sue Luft (Environmental at Large), and subcommittee chair Joy Fitzhugh (County Farm Bureau). The subcommittee met on May 27, 2009. At their regularly scheduled meeting on July 1, 2009, the WRAC reviewed the subcommittee report and their recommendations follow.

Members had split opinions on the language of one recommendation. Eight (8) voting members were in favor of recommending the following subcommittee language:

 Agricultural clusters should be limited to existing developable legal lots of record, with sufficient water supply on the project property.

Purpose of the Committee:

To advise the County Board of Supervisors concerning all policy decisions relating to the water resources of the SLO County Flood Control & Water Conservation District. To recommend to the Board specific water resource programs. To recommend methods of financing water resource programs. However, seven (7) voting members preferred this language:

• Agricultural clusters should be limited by the availability of sufficient water supply on the project property.

It is the unanimous recommendation of the WRAC:

- That the sustainability of the agriculture's water supply must be determined prior to approval of an agricultural cluster.
- The agricultural cluster developer must retain responsibility for adequate residential water supply for a period of years found by independent hydrogeologists to be adequate for its long-term water sustainability.

Respectfully,

Michael Wim

MICHAEL WINN Chairperson, Water Resources Advisory Committee

cc: SLO County Board of Supervisors SLO County Planning Commissioners Bill Robeson, SLO County Department of Planning & Building