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Sexual Assault    

Sexual assault is any unwanted sexual act committed or 
attempted against a person’s will. This brochure provides 
information about your rights and options as a survivor. 
 
It is a crime:  
 Even if the assailant is a partner, spouse, friend, 

family member or acquaintance. 
 
 It is your choice to: 
 

  Get a physical exam 
  Be part of a criminal case 
  Report the assault 
  Speak with an advocate 

 
 Speaking with a victim advocate can help you 

understand your options and the criminal justice 
process. 

 
 You have the right to report to any law enforcement 

agency, but the investigation will take place where the 
assault happened. 

 
It is your right:  
 
 To contact an advocate 24 hours a day, call Lumina 

Alliance (805) 545-8888. Advocates are available 
through the advocacy organizations listed on the back 
cover of this booklet. 

 
 To have a victim advocate, and at least one other 

support person of your choice, present during any 
examination and/or interview, unless that person is 
disruptive to the investigation. 

IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT. 
NO ONE ASKS OR DESERVES TO BE HURT. 
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Your rights continued... 

 

 To request to be listed confidentially in the police 

report 

 

 To obtain a free copy of the initial police report 

 

 To communicate with your investigator and receive 

the case number along with updates on your case  

 

To obtain case information you will need to contact the 

law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the area 

where the sexual assault took place.  

 

Please keep in mind that a police investigation can often 

take months to complete due to many different factors.   

 

Contact the California Attorney General’s Victims’ 

Services Unit for a general location and status of the  

evidence from your sexual assault kit based on data 

entered into the SAFE-T database. Or Contact the local 

law enforcement agency that handled your case.  

California Attorney General’s Office -  

Victims’ Services Unit    1-877-433-9069 
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Sexual Assault Victim’s  

DNA Bill of Rights 

California Penal Code section 680 gives certain rights to 

sexual assault survivors related to the testing of DNA. 

 

Upon request, a sexual assault survivor has the right: 

 

1. To be informed whether a DNA profile of the suspect 

was obtained from testing of the forensic evidence. 

2. To be informed whether a DNA profile of the suspect 

has been entered into the California Department of   

Justice database, provided this disclosure would not 

compromise an ongoing investigation. Receive the 

tracking number and steps necessary to get follow up 

information. 

3.  To the offender’s sex offender registry information, if 

convicted. 

4.  To be informed that DNA and other types of forensic 

evidence can degrade or breakdown over time due to 

exposure to heat, water, and other materials in 12 

hours to 7 days. 

5.  To know if the evidence related to your assault will be 

tested, and that it should be transported to the 

laboratory and analyzed within 24 months. 

6.  To be informed if law enforcement chooses not to test 

DNA evidence. 
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DNA Bill of Rights continued… 

 

7.  To be notified if law enforcement intends to dispose of    

medical examination evidence, or other crime  scene 

evidence, from unsolved sexual assault cases before 

the expiration of the criminal statute of limitations. 

8.  To receive written notification, at least 60 days prior to  

either of the events described above (#6 or #7). 

9. To know sexual assault evidence is kept by the 

investigating law enforcement agency or crime 

laboratory for at least 20 years, or if a survivor was 

under 18 years old when the assault occurred, at least 

until the survivor’s 40th birthday. 

 

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE INFORMED whether or not 

the medical examination evidence is analyzed within 18 

months of your assault. 

 

A sexual assault survivor may designate a third party, such 

as a victim advocate or other support person of their     

choosing, to act as recipient of the above information. 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, also known as INTIMATE 

PARTNER VIOLENCE, refers to the pattern of physical 

and sexual violence, intimidation, threats of violence and 

emotional abuse used by a suspect to gain power and 

control over an intimate partner. 

 

Many of those acts—physical violence, sexual assault, 

threats, and stalking behaviors—violate criminal laws in 

California. 

 

If you are a survivor of domestic violence, you are not 

alone and it is not your fault:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 4 

men have experienced physical violence by an intimate 

partner. 

 

Without some type of intervention, violent behavior often       

continues, becoming more frequent and severe.  

In an emergency, survivors of domestic violence should 

immediately call the police for help. Officers responding to 

emergency domestic violence calls will make sure 

everyone is safe.  Officers will talk to those involved and 

conduct an investigation to find out what happened.  

Both California law and law enforcement policy require: 

 A police report be written when officers respond to a 

call involving domestic violence. 

 An arrest of the person determined to be the primary          

aggressor– even if the survivor does not want an 

arrest. 

 

Domestic Violence 

Law Enforcement Response 

to Domestic Violence 
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Prosecution of Domestic Violence 

Domestic Violence Emergency Shelter 

For information about a shelter (or emergency housing) 

you may contact the following 24-hour crisis line: 

 

Lumina Alliance                                          (805) 545-8888 

 

 

After a police report is written, it will be sent to the District 

Attorney’s Office for review and possible charges. 

 

You have the right to ask the District Attorney’s Office to 

file a criminal complaint. However, they make the final 

decision regarding criminal charges, including whether a 

case is filed and whether it will be prosecuted as a felony 

or a misdemeanor. 

 

It is important to understand it is the District Attorney’s 

Office who files charges against the abuser, not you.  The 

District Attorney’s Office has a team of trained Deputy 

District Attorneys and support personnel that handle 

domestic violence cases.  You can reach the District Attor-

ney’s Office at the following number: 

 

Office of the District Attorney, 

County of San Luis Obispo:    (805)781-5800 
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Strangulation 

If you have been strangled, you are strongly  

encouraged to seek immediate medical  attention at an 

emergency department and seek support from a 

victim advocate. Any pressure applied to your neck 

during a domestic violence incident or a sexual assault 

could be dangerous. 

SB40 Strangulation: “I have a duty to warn you that 

strangulation is serious and can cause internal injuries, 

brain damage and/or delayed health consequences such 

as strokes, thyroid issues, miscarriage, and/or death. 

Research shows that if you are strangled even one time, 

you are 750% more likely to be killed by your partner. We 

strongly encourage you to seek immediate medical 

attention at an emergency department and ask for support 

from an advocate.” 

Stalking 
You are not to blame for a stalker’s behavior 

Stalking is a pattern of unwanted behaviors directed 

toward a specific individual that would cause a 

reasonable person to fear for their physical safety. 

 

A stalker is someone who engages in some, or all, of the 

following: 

 Follows you and shows up where you are 

 Sends unwanted gifts, letters, cards, or e-mails 

 Damages your home, car, or other property 

 Monitors your phone calls or computer use 

 Uses technology to track where you go 

 Threatens to hurt you, your family, friends, or pets 

 Takes other actions that control, track, or frighten you 

If you think you are being stalked, notify your local law 

enforcement agency. 
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Under Federal law, “severe forms of trafficking of 

persons” include both sex trafficking and labor trafficking.  

Labor trafficking is the recruitment, harboring, 

transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for labor 

or  services, through the use of force, fraud, or coercion 

for the purposes of subjecting that person to involuntary 

servitude, debt bondage or slavery. 

Sex trafficking is the recruitment, harboring, 

transportation, provision, obtaining, patronizing, or 

soliciting of a person for the purposes of a commercial 

sex act, in which the commercial sex act is induced by 

force, fraud, or coercion. 

 

 False advertisement for “modeling”, “acting” or 
“dancing” opportunities 

 Internet enticement through chat rooms 
 Peer recruitment (group homes, school, etc.) 
 Much older boyfriend/girlfriend 
 Kidnapping 
 Use of violence and force 
 

If you or someone you know needs help call: 
National Human Trafficking Hotline: (Polaris Project) 

1(888) 373-7888 or text “Be Free” to 233733 

Human Trafficking   

Modern Day Slavery 

Signs of a Trafficker 
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Ask yourself these questions... 

 Has anybody ever threatened to keep you from   
leaving?  

 Has anybody ever hurt you to keep you from leaving? 

 Has your family been threatened or hurt? 

 Did someone take away your ID or other documents? 

 Is someone forcing you to work for them to pay off a 
debt? 

If your answer is yes to any of these questions, you may be 
a victim of human trafficking.  There is support for you. Call 
a victim resource provider to access services that could 
help with both short and long term needs. 

Resources are listed on the Advocacy Organization page in 
this booklet. 

Protective Orders 

Survivors of Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence 
have the right to request protective orders from the 
court.   

Under AB 2337 employers with 25 or more employees 
cannot terminate, or in any way discriminate or retaliate 
against an employee who is a victim of domestic 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking for taking time off 
from work for reasons related to that victimization, 
including: seeking medical attention, obtaining victim 
services, participating in safety planning, or receiving 
counseling. 
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Protective orders continued… 

Several different types of protective orders may be 
available. 

 Emergency Protective Order (EPO):  When a survivor 
has been abused by a current/former intimate partner, or 
parent of a child-in-common, or is a victim of stalking and 
the abuser poses an immediate danger, law enforcement 
may request an EPO from a judge. EPO’s are valid for 5 
business days and allow the survivor time to seek a 
longer term protective order. Victims of human trafficking 
may receive an EPO. 

 

 Domestic Violence Restraining Order (DVRO):  When 
two people are, or were, in an intimate or dating         
relationship, have a child-in-common, or are related, a 
survivor may be able to request this type of order.  
Recent violence, or a threat of violence, is needed for a 
judge to consider granting the order. 

 

 Civil Harassment Restraining Order (CHRO):   When 
two people are not related and one party has a concern 
about their safety based on recent violence, or a threat of 
violence, they may be able to request this type of order. 
Victims of human trafficking and sexual assault may 
receive a CHRO. For more information on the process 
visit http://www.courts.ca.gov/1260.htm 

 

 Criminal Protective Order (CPO):  If the District 
Attorney’s Office has filed charges, a CPO may be 
requested as part of the criminal case. Victims of human 
trafficking may receive a CPO.  CPO’s can be issued by 
the Deputy District Attorney even without the victim’s 
consent.  

A victim advocate may be able to answer questions and 
refer you to additional resources.   
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Protective orders continued… 

 

For a Domestic Violence Restraining Order (DVRO) 

San Luis Obispo  
Legal Assistance Foundation at (805) 781-6418 

 

For a Criminal Protective Order (CPO) contact the 
Christopher G. Money Victim Witness Assistance Center 
at (805) 781-5821 

 

For assistance with Civil Protective Orders   
Contact the Family Law Facilitator at (805) 706-3617 
 

 

For more information regarding assistance for  

self-represented parties with civil DVROs and CHOs, 

visit www. slo.courts.ca.gov/self-help/family-law 
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California Victim Compensation Board 

The California Victim Compensation Board 

(CalVCB) is a state program dedicated to providing 

reimbursement for many crime-related expenses to 

eligible victims who suffer physical injury or threat of 

physical injury as a direct result of a violent crime. 

CalVCB funding comes from restitution paid by criminal 

offenders through fines, orders, penalty assessments 

and through other federal funding.  

• To seek financial assistance and apply for recovery 

of costs directly caused by victimization through 

CalVCB go to: http://victims.ca.gov/victims/

howtoapply.aspx 

• Note: You may have to cooperate in the criminal case 

to qualify for CalVCB. 

For more information about the California Victim 

Compensation Board contact the Christopher G. 

Money Victim Witness Assistance Center  

(805) 781-5821 

Custody Status 

Even when a suspect is arrested, they may be released at 

any time. You will not automatically be notified of their 

release. If you want to receive notification of changes in the 

suspect’s custody status, contact the victim notification 

service in the county of arrest. 

San Luis Obispo County Jail:              (805)781-4600 

Website:                                                            slosheriff.org 

VINE (Victim Notification Service)                 (877) 411-5588 

Website:                                    vinelink.com 
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The California Constitution, Article 1, Section 28(b), confers 

certain rights to victims of crime, including the right: 

1. To be treated with fairness and respect for his or her 

privacy and dignity, and to be free from intimidation, 

harassment, and abuse throughout the criminal or 

juvenile justice process.  

2. To be reasonably protected from the defendant and 

persons acting on behalf of the defendant. 

3. To have the safety of the victim and the victim’s family 

considered in fixing the amount of bail and release 

conditions for the defendant. 

4. To prevent the disclosure of confidential information or 

records to the defendant, the defendant’s attorney, or 

any other person acting on behalf of the defendant, 

which could be used to locate or harass the victim or 

the victim’s family or which disclose confidential 

communications made in the course of medical or 

counseling treatment, or which are otherwise privileged 

or confidential by law. 

5. To refuse an interview, deposition, or discovery request 

by the defendant, the defendant’s attorney, or any other 

person acting on behalf of the defendant, and to set 

reasonable conditions on the conduct of any such 

interview to which the victim consents. 

6. To reasonable notice of and to reasonably confer with 

the prosecuting agency, upon request, regarding, the 

arrest of the defendant if known by the prosecutor, the 

charges filed, the determination whether to extradite the 

defendant, and, upon request, to be notified of and 

informed before any pretrial disposition of the case. 

Victim’s Bill of Rights   

“Marsy’s Law” 
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Marsy’s Law cont’d… 

7. To reasonable notice of all public proceedings, 

including delinquency proceedings, upon request, at 

which the defendant and the prosecutor are entitled to 

be present and of all parole or other post-conviction 

release proceedings, and to be present at all such 

proceedings. 

8.   To be heard, upon request, at any proceeding, 

including  any delinquency proceeding, involving a 

post-arrest release decision, plea, sentencing, post-

conviction release decision, or any proceeding in 

which a right of the victim is at issue. 

9. To a speedy trial and a prompt and final conclusion of 

the case and any related post-judgment proceedings. 

10. To provide information to a probation department 

official conducting a pre-sentence investigation 

concerning the impact of the offense on the victim and 

the victim’s family, and any sentencing                    

recommendations before the sentencing of the 

defendant. 

11. To receive, upon request, the pre-sentence report 

when available to the defendant, except for those 

portions made confidential by law. 

12. To be informed, upon request, of the conviction, 

sentence, place and time of incarceration, or other 

disposition of the defendant, the scheduled release 

date of the defendant, and the release of or the 

escape by the defendant from custody. 
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Marsy’s Law cont’d… 

13. To restitution. 

A. It is the unequivocal intention of the People of 

the State of California that all persons who 

suffer losses as a result of criminal activity shall 

have the right to seek and secure restitution 

from the persons convicted of the crimes 

causing the losses they suffer. 

B. Restitution shall be ordered from the convicted 

wrongdoer in every case, regardless of the 

sentence or disposition imposed, in which a 

crime victim suffers a loss. 

C. All monetary payments, monies, and property 

collected from any person who has been 

ordered to make restitution shall be first applied 

to pay the amounts ordered as restitution to the 

victim. 

14. To the prompt return of property when no longer   

needed as evidence.  

15.  To be informed of all parole procedures, to participate 

in the parole process, to provide information to the 

parole authority to be considered before the parole of 

the offender, and to be notified, upon request, of the 

parole or other release of the offender.  

16.  To have the safety of the victim, the victim’s family, 

and the general public considered before any parole 

or other post-judgment release decision is made.  

17.  To be informed of the rights enumerated in 

paragraphs (1) through (16). 
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Date/Time: 

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

Location: 

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

___________________

Event Log: An event log can be helpful to show 

patterns and track incidents.  Use these pages 

to document events of stalking, domestic 

violence, etc. 
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_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________

_______________________________________ 

Description of the incident: 
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Advocacy Organizations 

211 of San Luis Obispo  
24-hour resource referral center:              Dial 211                            
 

California Attorney General’s Office—Victims’ Services Unit 
connects victims to local victim support and provide information 
and updates on appeal process. 
Website:                                            oag.ca.gov/victimservices 
Phone number:                                                     (877) 433-9069 
 

California Victim Compensation Board (CalVCB) helps 
reimburse victims for counseling, medical and dental bills, and 
other costs related to the crime. 
Website:                                      victims.ca.gov 
Phone number:                                                      (800) 777-9229 
 

 

Lumina Alliance provides confidential victim advocacy and 
support services to victims and survivors of intimate partner 
violence and sexual assault.  
Website:                 luminaalliance.org 
24-hour crisis line:                          (805) 545-8888 
 

Christopher G. Money Victim Witness Assistance Center 
supports crime victims in the criminal justice system and 
connects victims to community resources. 
Phone number: (Monday – Friday 8-5pm)            (805) 781-5821 
 

National Sexual Assault Hotline: 
24-hour crisis line:          1(800) 656-4673 
 

National Domestic Violence Hotline: 
24-hour crisis line:        1(800) 799-SAFE (7233) 
 

National Human Trafficking Hotline: 
24-hour crisis line:                                              1 (888) 373-7888 
 

SLO County Behavioral Health provides mental health 
services for adults and children.          
24-hour access line:         1 (800) 838-1381 
 




