Renewing a Cannabis Business License

What is the process?

Complete the Sheriff's License Renewal Packet

Select one of the forms based on the type of business entity (Corporation or Limited Liability Corporation) and return to the Sheriff's Office approximately sixty (60) days before the license expiration date. Information about the Sheriff’s form (including instructions for additional requirements for business entities, such as Limited Liability Corporations (LLC)) is also included in this packet. 

Corporation Cannabis Renewal


Limited Liability Corporation Renewal

Complete the Planning & Building's Renewal Form

Complete and return the Department of Planning and Building Cannabis Renewal approximately sixty (60) days before the license expiration date. 

Complete the Tax Collector Renewal Form

The Tax Collector will mail a Notice of Impending Expiration of County Cannabis Business License and the Business License Renewal form approximately ninety (90) days before the expiration date. The renewal fee includes a license fee and a California Cannabis Authority monitoring fee.

Per County Code, it is a violation to conduct business operations (including advertising) in the unincorporated areas of the County without a valid County Business License.

Who can use this service?

The service is only for existing Cannabis Business Licensees that are required to renew their licenses annually. 

Is there a charge for this service?

The current renewal application business license fee is $34 for each business type (a $4 required fee for the State Disability Access program is included in the application fee and renewal fee). This fee is non-refundable. In addition, there is a Cannabis Tax Compliance fee of $3,918 per license.

When and where is this service offered?

This service is available throughout the year upon the license expiration date.

After April 10th, the Second Installment of the Annual Property Tax Bill must be paid with a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost. 

After the delinquency date of April 10th, California law requires that a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost be imposed on second installments.  If you have questions about your tax bill, please contact the Tax Collector by email at [email protected] or by phone at (805) 781-5831.

If paying online: e-Check is free; fee for using credit or debit card. 

View or Pay Property Taxes by eCheck, Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express