Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Get the latest public information related to coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) at

While most services are available online or via the mail, Clerk-Recorder services are now also available in-person at the San Luis Obispo office.  The Atascadero office remains closed until further notice.  Please call (805) 781-5080 to make an appointment.  Walk-in service is also available but may be subject to delays. Please review this information before visiting our office.

Return to the top of the page

Fish & Wildlife Filings

Who can use this service?

Anyone can use this service.

Is there a charge for this service?

The County Clerk Processing Fee is paid at the time of filing:

  • $50.00 - For all filings

The Fish and Wildlife fees are paid at the time of filing as follows:

  • $2,280.75 - Negative Declaration (ND)

  • $2,280.75 - Mitigated Negative Declaration (MND)  

  • $3,168.00 - Environmental Impact Report (EIR) 

  • $1,077.00 - Environmental Document pursuant to a Certified Regulatory Program (CRP)  

When and where is this service offered?

This service is available anytime throughout the year at the Clerk-Recorder office in San Luis Obispo during regular business hours except during County observed holidays.

Location, directions and hours of operation

Click on location name to show hours of operation, directions and phone information

Clerk-Recorder San Luis Obispo Office

Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

1055 Monterey Street Suite D120 San Luis Obispo, CA 93408

Tel: (805) 781-5080

Fax: (805) 781-1111

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a CEQA?

The California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) helps to guide the Department during issuance of permits and approval of projects. CEQA applies to all discretionary projects proposed to be conducted or approved by a California public agency, including private projects requiring discretionary government approval.

What is the purpose of CEQA?

There are many purposes of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), as follows:

  • Disclose to the public the significant environmental effects of a proposed discretionary project, through the preparation of an Initial Study (IS), Negative Declaration (ND), or Environmental Impact Report (EIR).

  • Prevent or minimize damage to the environment through development of project alternatives, mitigation measures, and mitigation monitoring.

  • Disclose to the public the agency decision making process utilized to approve discretionary projects through findings and statements of overriding consideration.

  • Enhance public participation in the environmental review process through scoping meetings, public notice, public review, hearings, and the judicial process. 

  • Improve interagency coordination through early consultations, scoping meetings, notices of preparation, and State Clearinghouse review.  
What type of Fish and Wildlife filings do you accept?

The Clerk-Recorder's Office accepts and files Negative Declarations, Mitigated Negative Declarations, Environmental Impact Reports, and Notice of Exemptions.  Additionally, Clerk-Recorder's Office posts Notices of Availability and Notices of Intention.

Who has to pay the County Clerk Processing Fee?

Any private entity, government or local agency, other than the County of San Luis Obispo, must pay the County Clerk processing fee. The government code exempting government agencies from charging one another does not apply in this instance.