County Pension System

The Retirement Plan is adopted by the County of San Luis Obispo, but several agencies including the Superior Court and the Air Pollution Control District in the County also contract to participate in the Retirement Plan. Both employees and the County of San Luis Obispo contribute towards Employee Retirement Benefits.

The Pension Trust also administers the Deferred Compensation Plan (a defined contribution savings plan) on behalf of the County.


All permanent employees and appointed officers of the San Luis Obispo County (the “County”), the San Luis Obispo County Superior Court (the “Court”), the San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control District (“APCD”), the San Luis Obispo County Local Agency Formation Commission (“LAFCO”), and the employees of SLOCPT are required to participate. Elected officials may choose to become Members upon assuming office but are not required to participate. Membership begins on the first day of work (hire date) as a permanent employee.

Once a member has reached minimum retirement age and has accumulated five years of Pension Trust Service Credit (“PTSC”), they are eligible to retire.

Pension Trust staff is always ready to assist. You can reach them by phone at (805) 781-5465, by email at [email protected], or in person at 1000 Mill Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408 (on the corner of Mill and Osos Streets) Monday through Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm (excluding County holidays).


Pension Trust