Skip to main content

While most services are available online or via the telephone, limited Tax Collector services are now also available in-person. Please email [email protected] or call (805) 781-5831 to make an appointment. Walk-in service is also available but may be subject to delays.

Return to the top of the page

View or Pay Property Taxes by eCheck, Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express

After April 12th, the Second Installment of the Annual Property Tax Bill must be paid with a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost. 

After the Delinquency Date of April 12th, California Law requires that a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost be imposed on unpaid 2nd installments.

Please contact the Tax Collector at [email protected] or (805) 781-5831 if you have questions about your tax bill. 

If paying online: e-Check is free; fee for using credit or debit card. 

 

County Business Licenses

What is the process?

Step 1: Information to bring to apply for a license

  • Name of Business (You may file a fictitious business name)
  • Name and Address of Owner of Business Location (if not the same as applicant)
  • Name of Corporation Officers and Address of Home Office
  • Mail Order Business may be requested to submit a copy of its catalog for review
  • If you are not the owner of the physical location of your business, the County Department of Planning and Building may require a written statement from the owner of the property granting permission to operate the business at that location.

Step 2: Receive approval for land use

Once you have applied for a County Business License, you need to be approved for a Zoning Clearance.

  • Visit the Department of Planning and Building
  • If you are not the property owner for the business location, please provide written authorization from the property owner for your proposed business use.

Step 3: Receive approval from any other required agencies

Certain business types may require additional review and approval from other agencies. For example, a restaurant will require an inspection and permit from the County Health Agency.

Tax Collector staff will be happy to review your County Business License application with you and direct you to the appropriate agencies.

Who can use this service?

Individuals or corporations who sell merchandise or provide a service for a fee in the unincorporated areas of San Luis Obispo County (outside city limits) may need this service.

Is there a charge for this service?

Currently, most County Business Licenses require a $43 application fee. Most licenses then require a $34 renewal fee annually (a $4 required fee for the State Disability Access program is included in the application fee and renewal fee).

Certain special license types require additional fees. Please contact the ACTTC to confirm specific license fees.

When and where is this service offered?

This service is available throughout the year during regular business hours except during scheduled holidays.

Renew an existing Business License

Location, directions and hours of operation

Click on location name to show hours of operation, directions and phone information

Frequently Asked Questions

View or Pay Property Taxes by eCheck, Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express

After April 12th, the Second Installment of the Annual Property Tax Bill must be paid with a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost. 

After the Delinquency Date of April 12th, California Law requires that a 10% penalty and a delinquent cost be imposed on unpaid 2nd installments.

Please contact the Tax Collector at [email protected] or (805) 781-5831 if you have questions about your tax bill. 

If paying online: e-Check is free; fee for using credit or debit card.