Information on filing certain statements and claims such as Builders Inventory or Solar Energy Exclusions, Map Bonds, and Business Property Statements
All boats and watercraft are subject to local property tax, unless they are specifically exempt by law. A Boat Survey Record form is mailed when there is a change of ownership, boat location, or the Assessor is notified by another County that the boat is now in San Luis Obispo County. When this form is not filed, the Assessor is required to estimate the value for the boat assessment.
The Builders Inventory Exclusion is provided for in Section 75.12 of the California Revenue and Taxation Code. This exclusion is available to property owners who notify the Assessor in writing, prior to or within thirty (30) days of the beginning of construction, that they do not intend to rent, lease, occupy, or otherwise use the property subject to the new construction.
The purpose of the exclusion is to omit the value of the new construction from the supplemental assessment roll until the date that the property changes ownership (in whole or in part), or is rented, leased, occupied, or otherwise used by the owner.
If you disagree with the value assessed to your business property, you may file a Business Property Assessment Review Request with the Assessor's Office.
All property used by a business is subject to local property tax, unless it is specifically exempt by law. Business personal property is appraised annually as of January 1st (lien date).
Examples of business property include, but are not limited to:
- Machinery and Equipment
- Office furniture
- Computer hardware
- Leasehold improvements
As a business owner, you must file a Business Property Statement (also known as Form BOE-571-L) if you have over $100,000 in business personal property or are requested to file by the Assessor's Office.
Business Property Statements may also be filed online at the California Assessors' Association e-file portal.
This service is for disabled persons who qualify to transfer the factored base year value of their residence to a replacement residence. The replacement residence must alleviate the disability in some way.
In order to satisfy the requirements of the Subdivision Map Act (Chapter 21.4 SS 150, 66493,66494 of the State Government Code), persons filing Tract or Parcel Maps must file for a Map Bond and post security for payment of property taxes or special assessments. The bond becomes a lien as of January 1st and is payable to the office of the County Tax Collector.
California Law provides that in certain circumstances, the initial purchaser of a building with an active solar energy system may qualify for a reduction in the assessed value of the property. Buyers must file the Solar Energy Exclusion form with the Assessor's Office.
All Vessels (boats and watercraft) are subject to local property tax unless they are specifically exempted by law. A Vessel Property Statement (BOE-576-D) is mailed to owners of documented or commercial vessels and all vessels valued at more than $80,000.
All property owned by an agricultural business is subject to local property tax, unless it is specifically exempt by law. As an agricultural business owner, you are required to file an Agricultural Business Property Statement each year if you own over $100,000 in property or are requested to file by the Assessor's Office.
Examples of taxable Agricultural business property include, but are not limited to:
- Farm Machinery and equipment (tractors, implements, harvesters, etc.)
The AG Property Statement is also referred to as BOE Form 571-F.
All aircraft is subject to local property tax, unless it is specifically exempt by law. As an aircraft owner, you are required to file an Aircraft Property Statement each year with the County Assessor's Office.
The Aircraft Property Statement is also referred to as BOE Form 577.
All property owned by an apartment house owner is subject to local property tax, unless it is specifically exempt by law. You are required to file an Apartment House Property Statement each year if you own over $100,000 in property or are requested to file by the Assessor's Office.
Examples of taxable apartment business property include, but are not limited to:
- Appliances, laundry equipment