County Fire Swearing In Ceremony, February 2018

County Firefighters Sworn In

Author: County Fire Department
Date: 2/28/2018 5:04 PM

Several County and CAL FIRE firefighters were sworn in during a special badge pinning ceremony on February 28.

The County Fire Department (CAL FIRE SLO) held an official badge pinning ceremony on Wednesday at 4 p.m. at the San Luis Obispo County Board of Supervisors Chambers.

At the ceremony, District 5 Supervisor Debbie Arnold swore in the firefighters and District 2 Supervisor Bruce Gibson distributed certificates from the Board of Supervisors to the firefighters.

Those honored were:

  • the newly appointed Deputy Chief Geoff Money
  • Battalion Chiefs Travis Craig and George Huang
  • Fire Captains Christopher Rylance, Morgan Rutledge, Luke Bourgault, and Christophe Campmas
  • Fleet Equipment Manager Kevin Cox
  • Fire Prevention Specialist/PIO Christopher Elms
  • Forestry Logistics Officer Terry Winter

The public was invited to attend. This ceremony recognizes newly appointed or promoted fire staff. The pinning of the badge is ceremonial to recognize the acceptance of a new position. The gentlemen also took an oath of office during the swearing-in ceremony. 

“It is an honor to recognize these men and women who are committed to protecting life, property and our natural resources with integrity, competence, teamwork, and courage," said Unit Chief Scott Jalbert.