Notary Public Registration
What is this service?
This service allows individuals to register as a Notary Public. A notary public is an official, appointed by the Secretary of State, to serve the public as an impartial witness in performing a variety of official acts related to the signing of important documents.
Laws concerning Notaries Public are set forth in the California Government Code Sections 8200-8230. For information on becoming a Notary Public, visit the California Secretary of State's website.
Who can use this service?
Anyone who has successfully passed the Secretary of State's Notary examination may register as a Notary public.
The filing of the Notary Oath and recording of the Bond must occur in the county where the Notary maintains his/her principal place of business.
Is there a charge for this service?
Please refer to the Clerk-Recorder's Fee Schedule.
What is the process?
Step 1: Obtain Notary Oath and Commission
You must meet all the requirements of the Secretary of State's Office to become a Notary Public.
Step 2: Obtain Notary Public Bond
Registrant must contact an insurance or surety company and obtain a Notary Public bond in favor of the State of California naming the registrant as principal, and covering the term of the commission, in the amount of $15,000.
Step 3: File your Notary Oath and Record your Notary Bond
To complete the registration process for a Notary Public the following is required within thirty (30) days of the date of your Commission:
You can submit your oath and bond by the following methods:
- In-person at the Clerk-Recorder office in San Luis Obispo or Atascadero during regular business hours except during a County holiday. Registrant will be required to show valid photo identification.
- By certified mail. You will need to appear before a valid Notary with valid photo identification to have the Notary administer the oath. Send the two acknowledged Notary Oaths, signed Notary Bond, and appropriate filing and recording fees to the County Clerk-Recorder office by certified mail.
When and where is this service offered?
This service is available anytime throughout the year at the Clerk-Recorder office in San Luis Obispo or Atascadero during regular business hours except during County observed holidays.
Location, directions and hours of operation
Click on location name to show hours of operation, directions and phone information
Clerk-Recorder San Luis Obispo Office
1055 Monterey Street Suite D120 San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
Tel: (805) 781-5080
Fax: (805) 781-1111
Clerk-Recorder North County Office
6565 Capistrano Avenue 2nd Floor Atascadero Library Atascadero, CA 93422
Tel: (805) 461-6041
Fax: (805) 461-6044
Frequently Asked Questions
How long is my Notary Commission good for?
Notary Commissions are valid for four (4) years.
I'm not renewing my Notary Commission, is there anything I need to do?
Yes. All notary books and records shall be delivered to the County Clerk-Recorder's Office within thirty (30) days of the expiration of your term or the termination of your commission.
What happens to my commission if I didn't file within 30 days?
If you do not file your Oath and record your Notary Bond within thirty (30) days of the date of your Commission, your commission will not be valid. You will need to contact the Secretary of State's Office for your next steps.
How do I check if someone is a valid Notary Public in the County of San Luis Obispo?
Contact our office by phone or in person during normal office hours and we can verify the Notary Public registration.